PDA

View Full Version : Read/Write on a konsole from Qt app

Joccy
17th September 2007, 15:35
Hello,
i am new in Qt3 and linux world: so my questions can be stupid for some of you ...sorry :o

I have to do a GUI interface in Qt of a perl programm. So i put a QTextEdit in a window, implement a QProcess, and try to have stdout from konsole to my QTextEdit. And try to write from my app to the konsole.

I try lots of tutorials but without success:

1/In my constructor of window:
myProc = new QProcess(this);

2/in my button click:
myProc->addArgument("konsole");
myProc->addArgument("-e");
myProc->addArgument("pet"); // my exe perl

connect(myProc, SIGNAL(readyReadStdout(), this, SLOT(readFromStdout()));

myProc->start();

3/My slot:
void MyWin::readFromStdout()
{
myTextEdit->append(myProc->readStdout());
}

4/ for writing i use:
myProc->writeToStdin(myString);

The perl app start in a konsole but nothing is read or write in my text edit. Is there someone to help me ? :confused:

Thanks a lot

wysota
17th September 2007, 16:19
Don't use konsole. Call the application directly (or using some interpreter like /bin/sh or /usr/bin/perl).

Joccy
9th October 2007, 11:04
Hello, i'am back !
I do what you told me. It didn't work very well: i have all the help, the errors and so on, in my text edit, but when i try to launch my exe, i only have errors:

Cannot open /dev/tty for read at ... interactive.pm line 273
Compilation failed in require at .../bin/pet line 220

but if i launch my exe via "konsole -e", my exe works but i have nothing on my text edit!!

Any ideas ?
thanks a lot

wysota
9th October 2007, 11:21