PDA

View Full Version : How to create filter effect on QTreeWidget

harpo
27th February 2006, 09:47
Hi all,

Newbie here, I have created a QTreeWidget for displaying a list of records but I need to implement a filter functionality that allows the user to view only the records that fit the filter requirements.

E.g. would be I have records with the following columns, (Cateogry, Record Name, TimeStamp, Description, RecordID)

I would like to allow the user to filter according to the timestamp or cateogry and record name.

Currently, my implementation is that I will hide all items and then use QTreeWidget's findItems to show the items that fit the criteria. This is inefficient and I hope to get your opinions on this.

THanx for the help.
Harpo

zlatko
27th February 2006, 10:31
This is inefficient and I hope to get your opinions on this.
Sorry but why do you think that its inefficient solution?:rolleyes:

harpo
27th February 2006, 11:30
Hi, cause I will be dealing with big number of items and to run thru all the items to find the set would be time-consuming. Also, I have a few filters to implement at the same time, so I was hoping to find a way where I can bunch up that list for showing and then hide the rest at 1 shot.

wysota
27th February 2006, 11:30
If you switch from item based to model based approach, you'll be able to use the QSortFilterProxyModel.

harpo
27th February 2006, 11:31
thanks I will try that out.

jpn
28th February 2006, 09:49
Currently, my implementation is that I will hide all items and then use QTreeWidget's findItems to show the items that fit the criteria. This is inefficient and I hope to get your opinions on this.

By this way, you'll end up iterating through all items twice and the shown items even tree times. First you hide all items (1), then you call QTreeWidget::findItems which does internally (depending on the flags) iterate through all items (2) and then you once again iterate through returned items (3) to shown them.