PDA

View Full Version : How should I thread these QProcesses?

last2kn0
5th October 2007, 01:52
I have a program that I'm using a QProcess to call wget to download thousands of files.

If I were to start a thread for each file to download it, could I do it without explicitly creating QThread objects? For example:

For i from 0 to 10
myThread(i);
End for

Would this work or would the thread get destroyed when it goes to the next iteration of the for loop? Basically the files I'm working with are numbers so I just send it i.

I ask this because if i did something like this:

For i from 0 to 10
myThread object(i);
End for

Wouldn't this cause conflicts? Wouldn't the object get destroyed possibly before it finishes or it would be assigned a new file to download? As you can tell, this is my first time dealing with threads!

Thank you so much for your help!

jpn
5th October 2007, 09:36
QProcess executes an external process. There is no need to run QProcess in a separate thread. QProcess doesn't block anyhow unless you call one of QProcess::wait*() methods.

last2kn0
5th October 2007, 13:21
Okkk, so this my requirements:
I need the process to be running in a specific directory...

If I'm running just QProcesses in that for loop, the object is going to be set to download a new file before its done with the last one unless waitForFinished() is used! Therefore, the gui will be unresponsive.

I can't just call a temporary like this QProcess().start() because I can't set its directory.

jpn
5th October 2007, 13:57
Blocking applications event loop causes nothing to get updated meanwhile. You should just launch the process and connect to its signals instead of using blocking wait-methods. You will get informed via signals when the process is finished etc. You can download next file in corresponding slot.

Btw, have you noticed QHttp::get()? :)

last2kn0
5th October 2007, 14:53