PDA

View Full Version : Limit number of row/column in QGridLayout

EricF
18th October 2007, 20:26
First of all, hello to everyone, I'm a newbie hehe.

Just began integration of Qt in our application and I know this is a stupid question but I can't find the solution and I tried. I even got in the source code which was really interesting.

I want to use QGridLayout but limit the number of column. I know it was possible in Qt3 but in Qt4, the constructors have disappeared. It would also be nice to do it after contruction if possible as this may change dynamically.

Also how do I set the default orientation for adding new widget. I looked in the source code and there is setDefaultPositioning but it doesn't seem to do what I want.

For example, I would like to be able to create a QGridLayout. Set max column number to 3 and add every new item in the next column and switch row when necessary using the default addWidget( Widget* ).

ToddAtWSU
18th October 2007, 20:37
I don't think what you want to do is possible in Qt 4. The only addWidget( ) take in the row/column combination to tell it where to place it as well as the spanning row and column function.

The only way I can see how you could do this the way you want is to create a variable holding columnNum and rowNum. Then have a number stating MAX_COLS, like a #define or something. After adding a widget, increment columnNum and then when columnNum >= MAX_COLS set columnNum back to 0 and increment rowNum. This is the only way I can think of how you can solve your problem, but I have always just said what row and column to add things to.