Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: lupdate Qt 4.7.1 not working anymore??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default lupdate Qt 4.7.1 not working anymore??

    Hello,

    I use Linguist & lupdate/lrelease cycle ever since to update tr() strings in my code for translating.

    But with recent Qt 4.7.1 version this does not seem to work anymore? I have a big project with several subdirs, structured like this:

    Qt Code:
    1. - MainDir
    2. main.pro
    3. - Module1
    4. module1.pro
    5. - Module2
    6. module2.pro
    7. [...]
    8. - Main
    9. main.pro
    10. - resource
    11. Program_de.ts
    12. [...]
    13. Program_de.qm
    14. [...]
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    the Module subdirs being dynamic libraries (DLLs) and Main being the application
    Qt Code:
    1. TEMPLATE=app
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    and the resource dir containing all program resources like translations (ts/qm files), icons etc. Up until now, executing lupdate in main directory or application subdirectory was sufficient to update translation file:

    Qt Code:
    1. lupdate Program.pro
    2.  
    3. or
    4.  
    5. lupdate Main.pro
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    but this does not work anymore with Qt 4.7.1, I get a lot of weird errors like this:
    Qt Code:
    1. C:/Qt/4.7.1/mkspecs/features/debug_and_release.prf(66):Function 'eval' is not im
    2. plemented
    3. C:/Qt/4.7.1/mkspecs/features/debug_and_release.prf(69):Function 'eval' is not im
    4. plemented
    5. C:/Qt/4.7.1/mkspecs/features/debug_and_release.prf(72):Function 'eval' is not im
    6. plemented
    7. C:/Qt/4.7.1/mkspecs/features/debug_and_release.prf(75):Function 'eval' is not im
    8. plemented
    9. C:/Qt/4.7.1/mkspecs/features/debug_and_release.prf(78):Function 'eval' is not im
    10. plemented
    11. C:/Qt/4.7.1/mkspecs/features/debug_and_release.prf(80):Function 'eval' is not im
    12. plemented
    13. C:/Qt/4.7.1/mkspecs/features/debug_and_release.prf(82):Function 'eval' is not im
    14. plemented
    15. C:/Qt/4.7.1/mkspecs/features/debug_and_release.prf(84):Function 'eval' is not im
    16. plemented
    17. C:/Qt/4.7.1/src/gui/kernel/qactiongroup.h:45: circular inclusion of c:/Qt/4.7.1/
    18. include/QtGui/qaction.h
    19. c:/Qt/4.7.1/include/QtGui/qboxlayout.h:1: circular inclusion of C:/Qt/4.7.1/src/
    20. gui/kernel/qboxlayout.h
    21. C:/Qt/4.7.1/src/gui/kernel/qgridlayout.h:45: circular inclusion of c:/Qt/4.7.1/i
    22. nclude/QtGui/qlayout.h
    23. C:/Qt/4.7.1/mkspecs/features/default_post.prf(5):Function 'system' is not implem
    24. ented
    25. C:/Qt/4.7.1/mkspecs/features/debug_and_release.prf(66):Function 'eval' is not im
    26. plemented
    27. C:/Qt/4.7.1/mkspecs/features/debug_and_release.prf(69):Function 'eval' is not im
    28. plemented
    29. C:/Qt/4.7.1/mkspecs/features/debug_and_release.prf(72):Function 'eval' is not im
    30. plemented
    31. C:/Qt/4.7.1/mkspecs/features/debug_and_release.prf(75):Function 'eval' is not im
    32. plemented
    33. C:/Qt/4.7.1/mkspecs/features/debug_and_release.prf(78):Function 'eval' is not im
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    and at the end, not any tr() string in my code was found:

    Qt Code:
    1. Updating 'resource/Tracker_de.ts'...
    2. Found 0 source text(s) (0 new and 0 already existing)
    3. Kept 175 obsolete entries
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    making any old strings obsolete.

    Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks
    AlGaN

    Edit: Systen: Win7 64bit, Qt 4.7.1 32-bit, MS VC 2010

    There seems to be a bug open related to this issue:
    http://bugreports.qt.nokia.com/browse/QTBUG-6587#

    Wondering that nobody has probs in this issue though it may affect all multilanguage apps?
    Last edited by AlGaN; 3rd March 2011 at 10:19. Reason: updated contents

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: lupdate Qt 4.7.1 not working anymore??

    What do your .pro files look like?
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: lupdate Qt 4.7.1 not working anymore??

    Hello wysota,

    they're fairly standard I think, with TRANSLATIONS variables in .pro file for exe:

    Qt Code:
    1. TEMPLATE = app
    2.  
    3. CONFIG(debug, debug|release) {
    4. TARGET = q1Trackerd
    5. # OBJECTS_DIR = obj_$$(QMAKESPEC)_$$[QT_VERSION]_debug
    6. # MOC_DIR = moc_$$(QMAKESPEC)_$$[QT_VERSION]_debug
    7. DEFINES += QT_DEBUG RLOG_COMPONENT="q1tracker"
    8. win32 {
    9. CONFIG += console
    10. LIBS += ../../bin/TrackerAppd1.lib \
    11. ../../3rdparty/rlog-1.4/win32/Debug/rlogd.lib
    12. }
    13. unix {
    14. LIBS += # Path to TrackerApp debug build \
    15. # Path to rlog debug build \
    16. }
    17. # SOURCES += ../common/debuq/log.cpp
    18. # HEADERS += ../common/debuq/log.h
    19. } else {
    20. TARGET = q1Tracker
    21. # OBJECTS_DIR = obj_$$(QMAKESPEC)_$$[QT_VERSION]_release
    22. # MOC_DIR = moc_$$(QMAKESPEC)_$$[QT_VERSION]_release
    23. DEFINES += QT_NO_DEBUG_OUTPUT RLOG_COMPONENT="q1tracker"
    24. win32 {
    25. LIBS += ../../bin/TrackerApp1.lib
    26. # ../3rdparty/rlog-1.4/win32/Release/rlog.lib
    27. }
    28. unix {
    29. LIBS += # Path to TrackerApp release build \
    30. }
    31. }
    32.  
    33. DESTDIR = ../../bin
    34.  
    35. RESOURCES = ../resource/common.qrc ../resource/translations.qrc
    36. TRANSLATIONS = ../resource/Tracker_de.ts \
    37. ../resource/Tracker_it.ts
    38.  
    39. INCLUDEPATH = \
    40. ../common/debuq \
    41. ../common/rlog \
    42. ../common/types \
    43. ../common/geoalg \
    44. ../TrackerApp \
    45.  
    46.  
    47.  
    48. QT += core gui
    49. CONFIG += qt warn_on debug_and_release
    50. SOURCES += \
    51. main.cpp \
    52. ../common/rlog/rlog_def.cpp \
    53.  
    54. win32 {
    55. RC_FILE = ../resource/appico.rc
    56. DEFINES += _USE_MATH_DEFINES
    57. }
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    and so on, this being the pro file for the application that relies on all modules (DLLs).

    Thanks for any hint,
    AlGaN

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: lupdate Qt 4.7.1 not working anymore??

    Line #52 of your project file is surely invalid. Does your project consist of only two source files?
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: lupdate Qt 4.7.1 not working anymore??

    Hello wysota,

    what's wrong with line #52? This is a souce file I include in every sub project (it's source for a logging lib I include in every sub project, residing in a common directory).

    No, this is project file only for application (exe) of project, of course there are a lot of other source files in other sub directories (cf the directory structure I mentioned in my first post).

    At top level source dir I have sth like this:
    Qt Code:
    1. TEMPLATE = subdirs
    2. VERSION = 1.2.3.4
    3.  
    4. CONFIG += ordered qt warn_on debug_and_release
    5.  
    6. SUBDIRS = \
    7. # no dependencies
    8. Module1 \
    9. Module2 \
    10. [...]
    11. # Dependency: Module1
    12. Module6 \
    13. [...]
    14. # application
    15. q1Tracker \
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Thanks for any hints

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: lupdate Qt 4.7.1 not working anymore??

    Quote Originally Posted by AlGaN View Post
    what's wrong with line #52?
    It ends with a backslash with no continuation in the next line.

    of course there are a lot of other source files in other sub directories (cf the directory structure I mentioned in my first post).
    They will not be taken into account when generating translations for this project. It might work if you pass -r option to lupdate.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


Similar Threads

  1. Cannot debug anymore,need help~~
    By MorrisLiang in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21st October 2010, 09:17
  2. Problem with lupdate
    By loris128 in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8th April 2009, 20:36
  3. 4.2 and lupdate
    By Byngl in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th November 2007, 03:55
  4. QAxObject does not work anymore?
    By jh in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 6th July 2007, 22:04
  5. lupdate *.pro troubles
    By jeff_s in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28th July 2006, 10:07

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.