Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Minimized windows shown as small rectangles

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Montréal, Canada
    Posts
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Minimized windows shown as small rectangles

    Qt 4.8 and 5.4, Qt Creator 3.1 and 3.3.0 under Ubuntu 12.04

    Since installation of Qt 5.4 and Qt Creator 3.3.0 my Qt apps show a defect.

    If I minimize a subwindow of one MDI app, its corresponding "tab" that was showing previously at the bottom left of the main window with its icon and window tittle now shows as a tiny rectangle (I assume it is the tab few pixels wide):

    Minimized.jpg

    In this example there are 3 minimized subwindows so 3 tiny rectangles.
    Even if I rebuild (qmake, clean and rebuild) with Qt Creator 3.1.2 using Qt 4.8 the defect remains.
    I did not modified the code since the Qt/Qt Creator upgrade, only recompiled the app.
    The small rectangle (tab) is active since the window menu can still be used by hovering the mouse curson on it and I can restore the window with it.

    Any help on this would be welcome!
    Last edited by midi-pascal; 16th January 2015 at 22:19.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Minimized windows shown as small rectangles

    Does it work correctly if you build your program from the command line and not inside Qt Creator?
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Montréal, Canada
    Posts
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Minimized windows shown as small rectangles

    Thanks for replying!

    Nope.
    After make clean and make on command line I get the same result.
    I build the mdi Qt example to see what happens and minimized windows behave correctly.
    Something in my app turned wrong at some point but I cannot see what could cause the problem.
    This app is not a new project and used to work well until the upgrade.
    Where is the code that displays the minimized tab?
    I am ready to debug a lot but I do not know where to look at...

    My subwindows inherit QDialog, are fixed size and I disabled maximize option with the window flags.
    I tried to remove all the window options but the problem is the same

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Minimized windows shown as small rectangles

    Quote Originally Posted by midi-pascal View Post
    Thanks for replying!

    Nope.
    So why post your question in a forum related to Qt Tools and not Qt Programming?

    Something in my app turned wrong at some point but I cannot see what could cause the problem.
    Check your sizeHints and styles (and stylesheets).

    My subwindows inherit QDialog
    Hmm... why? It doesn't make much sense.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Montréal, Canada
    Posts
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Red face [Solved] Re: Minimized windows shown as small rectangles

    Sorry.
    Wrong place to post, and the problem was me.
    I used wrong params to call addSubWindow() to the MdiArea.
    The problems showed up now because the app was not recompiled for a while so I thought it was the Qt upgrade.
    Shame on me, sorry.

Similar Threads

  1. Mdi minimized windows always on top?
    By erikusa in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18th December 2010, 00:45
  2. QIcon not shown on Ubuntu, works on Windows
    By JPNaude in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11th November 2010, 05:28
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26th August 2010, 11:51
  4. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 8th September 2008, 09:46
  5. Small task for Windows programmers
    By wysota in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 29th October 2007, 09:32

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.