Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Please help: Can't debug 32-bit apps on Windows 7 x64 w/ Qt Creator

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Please help: Can't debug 32-bit apps on Windows 7 x64 w/ Qt Creator

    Hi guys,

    I'm new to this forum and fairly new to Qt.

    I'm running Windows 7 x64. I have Visual Studio 2010 installed and also Windows SDK v7.1. I've installed Debugging Tools for x86 and x64.

    To install Qt, I downloaded the source for 4.7.1 and compiled for x86 and x64. I am using Qt Creator 2.1 RC.

    I can switch between compiling 32-bit and 64-bit by switching between my Qt 4.7.1 folders. This works great.

    I'm not expecting to be able to debug 64-bit apps with the 32-bit Qt Creator, but I think I should be able to debug 32-bit apps.

    When I try to debug, everything looks right, but my breakpoints don't get hit. I can put my breakpoint at the first line of code in my main function and nothing -- it flies right by.

    I tried setting the option to automatically break on exceptions and then put a throw in my code. This breaks, however, it doesn't break in my code; it breaks in the thread window.

    Any help is greatly appreciated.

    Thanks very much.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Please help: Can't debug 32-bit apps on Windows 7 x64 w/ Qt Creator

    Wow, nothing? Am I SOL?

    I think the issue might be missing debug information. Does anyone know how I can resolve that? Thanks.
    Last edited by sshtac; 22nd February 2011 at 17:05.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Solikamsk / Russia
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Please help: Can't debug 32-bit apps on Windows 7 x64 w/ Qt Creator

    my scenario is quite similar, but simpler, just qt-creator 2.01 and qt4.7.1 with vs2008 under win7/64-bit. Only downloaded the 2 qt windows binaries, and installed the x86 Debugging Tools besides the official 64 bit version of it, took me a bit to figure out that one Qt-creator found and recognized the appropriate 32-bit cdb, and building the debugger helper also worked. And also no problem in debugging the compiled qt apps, with breakpoints, of course only 32-bit. Maybe at least worth giving it a try..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Please help: Can't debug 32-bit apps on Windows 7 x64 w/ Qt Creator

    Hi all...

    For those interested. I finally got debugging working. I installed Qt Creator 2.2 Beta (released today) and viola, debugging works! Wonderful. Thanks to all those that made it possible.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    6
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Please help: Can't debug 32-bit apps on Windows 7 x64 w/ Qt Creator

    I have the same problem, can you tell me what viola is?


    did you mean "et voilà !" ?
    Last edited by qtmude; 25th March 2011 at 12:34.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Please help: Can't debug 32-bit apps on Windows 7 x64 w/ Qt Creator

    Hi,

    Yes, I meant "et voilà !"... sorry for the confusion. Try installing the latest build of Qt Creator 2.2 Beta: http://developer.qt.nokia.com/prereleases

    After installing, VS 2010 wouldn't compile C++/CLI projects correctly -- errors about trying to compile x86 using x64 platform.

    A simple reboot fixed that.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    6
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Please help: Can't debug 32-bit apps on Windows 7 x64 w/ Qt Creator

    Quote Originally Posted by sshtac View Post
    Hi,

    Yes, I meant "et voilà !"... sorry for the confusion. Try installing the latest build of Qt Creator 2.2 Beta: http://developer.qt.nokia.com/prereleases

    After installing, VS 2010 wouldn't compile C++/CLI projects correctly -- errors about trying to compile x86 using x64 platform.

    A simple reboot fixed that.
    my problem is that: I can compile on debug and x86 the program but I can't run it

    in release it works correctly.

    this is the error i get:

    this application has failed to start because the application configuration is incorrect. Review the manifest file for possible errors
    I'll try to reboot

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Please help: Can't debug 32-bit apps on Windows 7 x64 w/ Qt Creator

    Sounds like a dependency issue. Have you used Dependency Walker?

    http://www.dependencywalker.com/


    Here's a similar problem: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/6...am-debug-build

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    6
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Please help: Can't debug 32-bit apps on Windows 7 x64 w/ Qt Creator

    Quote Originally Posted by sshtac View Post
    Sounds like a dependency issue. Have you used Dependency Walker?

    http://www.dependencywalker.com/


    Here's a similar problem: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/6...am-debug-build
    thanks, but I don't know what to do. what I'm supposed to see?

    from the linker I can see that there is a .lib shared by release and debug.

    Depedency walker says that there are missing dlls, but when i add them it find other missing dlls WTF

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th August 2010, 06:34
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 8th August 2010, 23:00
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11th June 2010, 20:27
  4. Deploying DB apps (Windows)
    By shindasingh in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26th October 2007, 22:44
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14th April 2007, 13:04

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.