Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Size of distribution of QT desktop application

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    97
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Size of distribution of QT desktop application

    Hi,

    We have requirement to deliver desktop application to one of our client. This application will then put on their server and will be downloaded by users through internet. But we are worried about size of distributable as we need to accompany required dlls like QtCore4.dll, QtCored4.dll, QtGui4.dll, QtGuid4.dll, QtNetwork4.dll, QtNetworkd4.all, libgcc_s_dw2-1.dll, mingwm10.dll, QtSql4.dll, QtSqld4.dll along with executable. This size is approximately 202 MB which is not acceptable by client to be downloaded. Please suggest a way to distribute application with necessary dll which will limit size to 10 to 20 MB only. Also, we want to distribute this as installer. Kindly advice on this also.

    This is for windows platform and compiler is mingw32-make

    Regards

    Manish Bhavsar

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,938
    Thanked 268 Times in 268 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    20

    Default Re: Size of distribution of QT desktop application

    Don't include the debug dll's ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Wroclaw, Poland
    Posts
    1,394
    Thanked 342 Times in 324 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: Size of distribution of QT desktop application

    Don't deploy debug libraries - or maybe you want the user to debug your app?
    Last edited by stampede; 24th March 2011 at 09:46. Reason: slower than tbscope

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    769
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 94 Times in 86 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Size of distribution of QT desktop application

    Also - on Linux, anyway - be sure to run 'strip' on your executables and dynamic libraries.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    319
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Size of distribution of QT desktop application

    Quote Originally Posted by SixDegrees View Post
    Also - on Linux, anyway - be sure to run 'strip' on your executables and dynamic libraries.
    Same on Windows. It's only on Mac OS X that the link option (-Wl,-s) is obsolete, if I recall correctly.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    97
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Size of distribution of QT desktop application

    What is strip? and how can I run it on my executable?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,447
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 348 Times in 333 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Size of distribution of QT desktop application

    Last time I looked it was part of the Qt SDK as it comes with MinGW. Just run it with the path to your executables. Eg. strip <exe>

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29th April 2010, 14:19
  2. Resize Widget To Desktop Size
    By fruzzo in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2nd October 2008, 16:29
  3. Desktop size.
    By hickscorp in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th May 2007, 08:14
  4. Desktop application shadow?
    By gfunk in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18th November 2006, 03:42

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.