Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: make--dosn't generate an .exe file

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default make--dosn't generate an .exe file

    Hi there,, I hope all of you are OK and ready to answer me.

    First of all, I use Windows XP as a platform in my computer, home eddition with no any Serviece Pack, and Qt 4.3.2 with MinGW-3.4.2.

    I did a lot of examples using Qt tutorials, and I am getting better in Qt programming. Suddenly, when I decided to resume my Qt tutorials and installed Qt and its related tools such as MinGW, I found unusual message after calling "make" command

    exactly as the following:

    Qt Code:
    1. C:\Qt\t1>qmake -project
    2.  
    3. C:\Qt\t1>qmake t1.pro
    4.  
    5. C:\Qt\t1>make
    6. mingw32-make -f Makefile.Release
    7. mingw32-make[1]: Entering directory `C:/Qt/t1'
    8. g++ -c -O2 -frtti -fexceptions -mthreads -Wall -DUNICODE -DQT_LARGEFILE_SUPPORT
    9. -DQT_DLL -DQT_NO_DEBUG -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT -DQT_NEEDS
    10. _QMAIN -I"..\4.3.2\include\QtCore" -I"..\4.3.2\include\QtCore" -I"..\4.3.2\inclu
    11. de\QtGui" -I"..\4.3.2\include\QtGui" -I"..\4.3.2\include" -I"." -I"c:\Qt\4.3.2\i
    12. nclude\ActiveQt" -I"release" -I"." -I"..\4.3.2\mkspecs\win32-g++" -o release\mai
    13. n.o main.cpp
    14. The system cannot find the path specified.
    15. mingw32-make[1]: *** [release\main.o] Error 1
    16. mingw32-make[1]: Leaving directory `C:/Qt/t1'
    17. mingw32-make: *** [release] Error 2
    18.  
    19. C:\Qt\t1>
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Please I am sure that I haven't made any mistake about the variables environment or the installation. I used to make the following recommanded variables environment and then it was working very well.
    Qt Code:
    1. Setting up a MinGW/Qt only environment...
    2. -- QTDIR set to C:\Qt\4.3.2
    3. -- PATH set to C:\Qt\4.3.2\bin
    4. -- Adding C:\MinGW\bin to PATH
    5. -- Adding C:\WINDOWS\System32 to PATH
    6. -- QMAKESPEC set to win32-g++
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    please help me by Allah and guide me to the straight way. I'll be thankfull for ever.
    I miss Qt widgets
    Last edited by Nora; 6th November 2007 at 22:15.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,714
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: make--dosn't generate an .exe file

    hmm... can you post the content of your t1.pro file?
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: make--dosn't generate an .exe file

    Ok.... Here you are:
    I've gotten it by this command (type t1.pro):

    Qt Code:
    1. ######################################################################
    2. # Automatically generated by qmake (2.01a) Tue Nov 6 13:07:09 2007
    3. ######################################################################
    4.  
    5. TEMPLATE = app
    6. TARGET =
    7. DEPENDPATH += .
    8. INCLUDEPATH += .
    9.  
    10. # Input
    11. SOURCES += main.cpp
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    thank you for any help

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    315
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: make--dosn't generate an .exe file

    As I read, the environment variables were set automatically in qt's "own environtent". And if the system can't find the right path, it means that they're not set up properly, there's no other way. Try adding things to e.v's manually. Start->Control Panel->System->Advanced tab->Environments
    13 of September - Programmer Day

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: make--dosn't generate an .exe file

    I tryed, Salazar,,, Do you think that I should make such variables in both "User Variables" and "System Variables" or It's enough to make them in any one? and I reinstalled Qt more than three times,,The problem has not been solved yet.

    Notice that I made them within System Variables. But this is my normal way and it was working.
    --------------------

    Actually when I started learning Qt Programming I wasn't playing with those variables at all. simply I install Qt and Its followed MinGW.

    What's happenned QT? Do you plan to abandon me in this empty world

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Bremen, Germany
    Posts
    554
    Thanked 86 Times in 81 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: make--dosn't generate an .exe file

    check if g++.exe / gcc.exe is in your PATH (by simply executing them)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    315
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: make--dosn't generate an .exe file

    Quote Originally Posted by Nora View Post
    Actually when I started learning Qt Programming I wasn't playing with those variables at all. simply I install Qt and Its followed MinGW.
    You have to add the variables to user, not system variables. Some time ago, I've had the same problem, when I was starting to learn qt, I've added variables manually, and it helped
    Regards
    13 of September - Programmer Day

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: make--dosen't generate an .exe file

    Yap ChristianEhrlicher, g++ is in PATH and it works as well as you want.

    Salazaar, I've carried all of the Qt's variables to the User's variables as you've pointed and the problem has not been solved yet.


    Thank all of you...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Bremen, Germany
    Posts
    554
    Thanked 86 Times in 81 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: make--dosn't generate an .exe file

    Ok, three more things

    - 'C:/Qt/t1' looks to me like you maybe have sh.exe from msys or cygwin in your PATH env (maybe not anymore, but during qmake run). If yes, remove it and rerun qmake.
    - Is c:\Qt\4.3.2\include\ really the path where your Qt include files are?
    - does directory c:\Qt\t1\release exist?
    - plz give your TARGET a usefull name (and rerun qmake)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: make--dosn't generate an .exe file

    Reported to ChristianEhrlicher:

    - Point number one is false, and there are no any such terms(sh.exe, cygwin) in PATH.
    -It's enough to determine c:\Qt\4.3.2\ directry in QTDIR. Although I've taken your advice for including "c:\Qt\4.3.2\include\ " in the Path and It hasn't effected any thing.
    -This point is true, the directory c:\Qt\t1\release exists.
    -About the target's name. Don't worry about any technical mistakes because this project is exactly the copy project of the FORMAL t1 of the QT's tutorials themselves.

    Note: Does the format of the computer itself effect the Qt job later? I'd made FAT format last time before this problem appeared. Sorry if my question is tooooo .

    Best Wishes
    Last edited by Nora; 9th November 2007 at 19:11.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    315
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: make--dosn't generate an .exe file

    Quote Originally Posted by Nora View Post
    Does the format of the computer itself effect the Qt job later? I'd made FAT format last time before this problem appeared.
    As far as I'm concerned, if you format your disc with FAT, and after it you'll be installing Windows XP, it will change FAT to NTFS if there's need to.
    13 of September - Programmer Day

  12. The following user says thank you to Salazaar for this useful post:

    Nora (10th November 2007)

  13. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: make--dosn't generate an .exe file

    congratulation guys...

    This problem has been solved by reformatting my computer and reinstalling the operating system. Actually by exchanging the system format from FAT to NTFS. I think that there was a problem in the operating system itself and it was not related to the formatting type.

    Then I examined and noticed that Qt tools (e.g...qmake, make,...) work fine from Qt's command window without making variables environment at all. They are important when we want to call such commands from DOS console window itself or to build our widgets from an IDE such as QDevelpe. this is just my note and I hope it is right...

    I appreciate everything you've done...I am thankful

Similar Threads

  1. how can i generate .cpp file in QT 4.3.0
    By gamitkumar in forum General Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 3rd September 2007, 22:23
  2. copy and run a .exe file in another system
    By sabeesh in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22nd August 2007, 10:05
  3. qt-3.3.8 fail in scratchbox
    By nass in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25th May 2007, 15:21
  4. Compiling with Qmake/Make
    By VireX in forum Newbie
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 22nd February 2007, 05:57
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18th July 2006, 12:06

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Qt is a trademark of The Qt Company.