Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Debugging in Eclipse

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Debugging in Eclipse

    I'm trying to build/debug using the eclipse ide. I followed the directions found at:

    http://www.joerg-reiling.de/qt4.0-eclipse3.1.0/

    and it builds without a problem. However, everytime I try to launch it in the debugger, I get a Launching dialog with "Error creation session Exec error:Launching failed."

    It runs fine in release mode. Is there a step that I am missing?

    Thanks,
    Nisha

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Debugging in Eclipse

    Have you noticed Qt Eclipse Integration?
    J-P Nurmi

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Debugging in Eclipse

    Thanks, I hadn't seen that. I had only seen the java plugin.

    I tried to download it and keep getting a problem with the page (for windows where I am currently working).

    -- Nisha

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Debugging in Eclipse

    I found out that I need to compile the Qt sources with mingw (for windows) and remove all traces of Visual Studio paths from my INCLUDE and LIB environment variables to get the sources to compile. Because of other issues, I was unable to follow through with this but hopefully this should solve the problem for anyone else.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Question Re: Debugging in Eclipse

    Is there any way of how to view Qt types (e.g. - QString) in user-friendly view (e.g. - ASCII representation) in Eclipse (like in VS) while debugging?

    I've found just one way so far - opening QString variable in "Variables" window, then go to d->data. Copy pointer. Go to "Memory window". "Add memory monitor". Paste pointer. Then "Add ASCII rendering". Presto! We have unreadable ASCII representation of QString.

    It takes too much time. Is there any other ways?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    2,744
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 541 Times in 521 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Debugging in Eclipse

    Add a watch for (QString)variable.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Debugging in Eclipse

    it doesn't solves the problem I've described.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Debugging in Eclipse

    Hello to all !!
    On a windows machine i have installed qt4 mingw eclipse CDT and qt-eclipse integration 1.0.0.
    I have build the debug libraries (after three days of searching way mingw32-make don't work )
    (http://www.qtcentre.org/forum/f-inst...ror-10023.html)

    and now i cannot debug my codes.
    qt-eclipse integration is supposed to have the compiler/debugger options because during installation the wizard asked me for the path of the mingw installation.
    Ok, to make it short... any suggestions how to use eclise to debug?

    thanks a lot

    tsemer

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Debugging in Eclipse

    So is there something like "Debugger Extension" (like in VS integration) for Eclipse to parse Qt classes? If no - is there any usability of eclipse integration app yet?

Similar Threads

  1. Coming Soon: Qt Eclipse Integration
    By QiT in forum Qt-based Software
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 25th May 2007, 14:48
  2. Debugging
    By Voldemort in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 14th May 2007, 20:38
  3. Eclipse
    By Doug Broadwell in forum Newbie
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th May 2007, 17:32
  4. Howto use Eclipse with QT4 in 10 steps
    By the_bis in forum Newbie
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 28th January 2007, 20:21
  5. Debugging on Mac
    By rickbsgu in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th October 2006, 13:12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Qt is a trademark of The Qt Company.