Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: any body using qextserialport?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    London
    Posts
    206
    Thanks
    40
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default any body using qextserialport?

    Hello guys,
    i am in trouble with qextserialport...i am trying to compile a project using qextserialport; but there is no qextserialport.lib file in qextserialport folder, thus the compiler gives a link error : "cannot open input file 'qextserialport.lib'". instead of 'qextserialport.lib", there is a file named libqextserialport.a in the build folder.

    What can i do? If it may work, may anybody send me that qextserialport.lib file? Thanks...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Grenoble, France
    Posts
    80
    Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: any body using qextserialport?

    I'm using it. I've simply compiled qextserialport then moved headers, libqextserialport.a and qextserialport.dll to my project directory. Also added
    Qt Code:
    1. LIBS += -L. -lqextserialport
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    to my pro file and included headers in my app, and that's it.
    You have to run a level 3 diagnostic.

    Ashes to ashes, Qt to Qt ( wysota )

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    London
    Posts
    206
    Thanks
    40
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: any body using qextserialport?

    Thank you Calhal for your answer..
    I 've already LIBS += -LC:\qextserialport\build -lqextserialport into the pro file..but i get the same error again...

    i am using visual studio. i couldn't compile qextserialport with it, so i used a precompiled version for xp...and i think the problem is here...perhaps that precompiled version was compiled with gcc or something like that..?

    when i try to compile qextserialport with VS2005, it doesn't give an error but it asks me to specify the name of executable file for debug session? finally in the build directory there are some objects created, and a qextserialport.dll file...but there is no qextserialport.lib

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,364
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,012 Times in 4,791 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: any body using qextserialport?

    Did you try to build it with qmake and nmake, without using the IDE? As for the import library, you can generate it from the dll - search the net, I'm sure you'll find some info how to do it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    London
    Posts
    206
    Thanks
    40
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: any body using qextserialport?

    ok! i made it work...
    MS VS needs some settings to be able to produce the lib file:
    In configuratiın properties of the project, i assigned an output directory(say lib..), and i changed the configuratiin type to static library(lib) from dynamic library(dll). and that is all...i built it, my lib file was staring at me over there :-)

Similar Threads

  1. Installing QextSerialPort on windows
    By gawauter in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 25th December 2011, 05:22
  2. QExtSerialPort with com ports above com9
    By mightymark in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th May 2006, 08:16

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.