Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Deploying an applilcation

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    14

    Question Deploying an applilcation

    In order to deploy my application I have re-built my QT as static and did qmake -config release.
    Now it makes standalone files which doesn't require any additional libraries to get started.
    However there is one file that it still requires and that is mingwm10.dll. So in order to start my application on another computer I need to take my file AND this dll.
    How can I get rid of it and get this dll include into the deployed .exe file as it did with all the other libraries? I would need to have just one .exe file, not the .exe. file + mingwm10.dll

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Deploying an applilcation

    See our wiki: [wiki]Building static Qt on Windows[/wiki] (notice the changes applied to mkspecs) and rebuild Qt once again...
    J-P Nurmi

  3. The following user says thank you to jpn for this useful post:

    slava (17th February 2008)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Deploying an applilcation

    Just to add to this, I set the environment variable QMAKESPEC to win32-msvc2005, went into C:\whereverqtis\mkspecs\win32-msvc2005 and made the changes to qmake.conf as per article given by jpn. Next rebuild it Qt. This works with Visual C++ 2008 Express from a vista install.

    The resulting single .exe worked on every XP and 2000 I tried it on worked.

  5. The following user says thank you to ksqt for this useful post:

    slava (17th February 2008)

  6. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    14

    Cool Re: Deploying an applilcation

    Thank you very much!
    How do you know all that?

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    13
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Deploying an applilcation

    hi! i've followed the steps in building the application and it works fine.

    the problem is, when i try to build a library(.dll) it can no longer build it.

    my project.pro looks like this:

    QT = gui core sql
    CONFIG += qt warn_on release dll
    DESTDIR = bin
    OBJECTS_DIR = build
    MOC_DIR = build
    UI_DIR = build
    FORMS = ui/dialog.ui
    HEADERS = src/dialogimpl.h
    SOURCES = src/dialogimpl.cpp src/main.cpp
    TEMPLATE = lib
    please help.. thanks...

Similar Threads

  1. Deploying Qt/MacOS applications
    By fabietto in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 3rd October 2007, 16:44
  2. Deploying QT applications
    By SteM in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 6th June 2007, 10:08
  3. Deploying Qt Application on Mac?
    By vishal.chauhan in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30th March 2007, 09:40
  4. Deploying with MySQL support under Windows
    By KShots in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12th October 2006, 09:19
  5. problems with deploying a Qt application
    By nongentesimus in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th June 2006, 13:45

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Qt is a trademark of The Qt Company.