Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Palette definition

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Livorno, italy
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Palette definition

    Hello.

    I'w working with Qt Designer 3.3.4, developing a GUI on a Debian/KDE with a true color video card. The GUI should run on another Debian PC with a 256 colors card.
    The problem is that I could not find any way to define a palette on my developing system in order to see exactly the same graphics on the other PC.
    Anyone has any idea about how to define a limited palette to work with?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,363
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,012 Times in 4,791 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Palette definition

    Defining the palette is the responsibility of the graphics system, not the application itself. In some environments it is possible to "hijack" the palette, but it causes all other applications to look horrible. You should avoid tweaking the palette.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Livorno, italy
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Palette definition

    Quote Originally Posted by wysota
    Defining the palette is the responsibility of the graphics system, not the application itself. In some environments it is possible to "hijack" the palette, but it causes all other applications to look horrible. You should avoid tweaking the palette.
    I know you're right, but leaving the graphics system do the thing turns out in having it do the wrong choice on my target 256 color environment.
    Anyway, thank you for your answer. I will do further investigation to avoid playing with the palette.

    RS

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 975 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Palette definition

    You could add another mode to your X server configuration that has 8-bit color depth and then use Ctrl+Alt++ or Ctrl+Alt+- to switch between them.

Similar Threads

  1. Qt4 is not fully honoring palette configuration
    By hagabaka in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1st August 2008, 01:38
  2. Palette toolbar need help plz...
    By Radagast in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 28th July 2008, 15:08
  3. Palette Frame
    By csvivek in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14th April 2008, 06:34
  4. how to corss compile for windows in Linux
    By safknw in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 13th May 2006, 06:23
  5. Replies: 25
    Last Post: 15th January 2006, 01:53

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.