Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: SlickEdit and qt

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Rzeszow, POLAND
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default SlickEdit and qt

    I just found a great IDE - SlickEdit. I reflect how I could missed it before. It has very good word completion feature, it's very similar to VC++ and lot more....
    Ok now my problem is to compile qt project from this IDE. It should do smth like that:
    1. Make a makefile using qmake.
    2. Compile it using makefile, created before...

    So is there a possibility to run qmake before compile process?? And then use this makefile?? Any ideas??

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Phila
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: SlickEdit and qt

    One of the ways is (it seems to be working in SE 9.0.1)
    Go to Project->Project Properties...
    Build Options
    select radio button "Build with a user-maintained makefile or custom build command"
    add "qmake" into pre build commands (select "Stop on error" is nice too)
    Tools
    select Build and put "make" as command line
    Now use Build->Build it should work
    Last edited by rGlory; 10th January 2006 at 20:27.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Rzeszow, POLAND
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: SlickEdit and qt

    Yes, I resolved it just before Your post I used the same way...

    I see U use SlickEdit too. Do U have problems with word completion in this IDE??
    I'm trying to parse the include files of qt but still I have no hints for it.... U don't have this problem or U doesn't use this feature???

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Napoli, Italy
    Posts
    621
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 86 Times in 81 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: SlickEdit and qt

    Quote Originally Posted by !Ci
    I just found a great IDE - SlickEdit. I reflect how I could missed it before. It has very good word completion feature, it's very similar to VC++ and lot more....
    Why you don't use KDevelop? Probably the best Qt IDE of the world.
    Version 3.3.x also support Qt4 development!

    Bye
    A camel can go 14 days without drink,
    I can't!!!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Rzeszow, POLAND
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: SlickEdit and qt

    Yes I tried it but I'm pamper a little after using VC++. I want a good code(word) completion. All Kdevelop is great IDE but this feature in it is suck.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Lincoln, NE USA
    Posts
    177
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: SlickEdit and qt

    Quote Originally Posted by !Ci
    Yes I tried it but I'm pamper a little after using VC++. I want a good code(word) completion. All Kdevelop is great IDE but this feature in it is suck.
    True.

    I am using SimplyMEPIS 3.4.2cr1 upgraded to KDE 3.5.

    I use Kate when programming on my Linux side. It has a context related "code completion" of a sort. As you enter code it remembers each unique word you type. So, when you enter ui.leStatus.setText("one, two, three") it remembers that. The next time you enter ui and press "." a list combo appears showing you leStatus and other GUI objects you've entered. After you select leStatus and press "." it displays a list combo with "setText" and any other methods related to leStatus that you may have entered before.

    When I load homestead.cpp, which has over 3,600 lines, it "knows" all the gui objects, their functions and properties, and every other word in the code. It turns out to be very accurate. In fact, it's about on par with my VisualStudio 2003.Net C++ code completion, because VS offers functions and properties that aren't always related to the object at the focus.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,714
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: SlickEdit and qt

    I use Kate when programming on my Linux side. It has a context related "code completion" of a sort. As you enter code it remembers each unique word you type. So, when you enter ui.leStatus.setText("one, two, three") it remembers that. The next time you enter ui and press "." a list combo appears showing you leStatus and other GUI objects you've entered. After you select leStatus and press "." it displays a list combo with "setText" and any other methods related to leStatus that you may have entered before.
    KDevelop uses that as well, in addition to a "noraml" element comletion, you just need to let it know where to look for the information.
    But any class struct etc that you declare in your project is automatically known, and will pop up word copletion when using these objects with no extra twicking.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Rzeszow, POLAND
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: SlickEdit and qt

    KDevelop uses that as well, in addition to a "noraml" element comletion, you just need to let it know where to look for the information.
    But any class struct etc that you declare in your project is automatically known, and will pop up word copletion when using these objects with no extra twicking.
    Theoretical yes... BUT this feature in KDevelop is on very low level, in my opinion of course. If I want to see hints of qt classes it only shows few of them. Maybe there smth wrong with configuration and I don't know what but I really spend lot of time to make it like I want it...

    About my problem with slickedit... I resolved the problem with word completion. I can only tell this IDE is GREAT

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: SlickEdit and qt

    Quote Originally Posted by !Ci
    Yes, I resolved it just before Your post I used the same way...

    I see U use SlickEdit too. Do U have problems with word completion in this IDE??
    I'm trying to parse the include files of qt but still I have no hints for it.... U don't have this problem or U doesn't use this feature???
    I also use SE and it works perfectly well with both Qt3 and Qt4. You need to create a tag file for word completion.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Germany - Mannheim
    Posts
    8
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: SlickEdit and qt

    There "can" be some problems with word completion because of some macros QT uses.
    This issue is covered in the FAQ on slickedit.com.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: SlickEdit and qt

    Quote Originally Posted by Timewarp
    There "can" be some problems with word completion because of some macros QT uses.
    This issue is covered in the FAQ on slickedit.com.
    You just have to add some macros to "C/C++ Processing" to avoid this kind of problems.
    To get support for foreach keyword in had to add this to .slickedit/10.0.3/unxcpp.h

    #define foreach(var,cont) Q_FOREACH(var, cont)
    #define Q_FOREACH(variable, container) for(QForeachContainer<__typeof__(container)>_conta iner_(container);!_container_.brk &&_container_.i!=_container_.e;({++_container_.brk ;++_container_.i;})) for(variable=*_container_.i;;({--_c
    ontainer_.brk;break;}))

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Rzeszow, POLAND
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: SlickEdit and qt

    I resolved this problem with word completion too. Exacly there was a problem with a QT macro. Now everything is ok...

    To get support for foreach keyword in had to add this to .slickedit/10.0.3/unxcpp.h

    #define foreach(var,cont) Q_FOREACH(var, cont)
    #define Q_FOREACH(variable, container) for(QForeachContainer<__typeof__(container)>_conta iner_(container);!_container_.brk &&_container_.i!=_container_.e;({++_container_. brk ;++_container_.i;})) for(variable=*_container_.i;;({--_c
    ontainer_.brk;break;}))
    Did You found this solution on internet or You discovered it??

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: SlickEdit and qt

    Quote Originally Posted by !Ci
    I resolved this problem with word completion too. Exacly there was a problem with a QT macro. Now everything is ok...


    Did You found this solution on internet or You discovered it??
    I discovered it

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.