Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: excessive/non GUI use of signals and slots

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default excessive/non GUI use of signals and slots

    Hello,

    I am writing some neural network stuff.
    I was thinking that it might be a good way to connect nodes in networks via "cables"(containing some function) with slot/signal connections at both ends.
    This would be a good basis for random combinations/variations and stuff like that.
    Initially, this seemed to work, but as I increased the number of connections slightly, the program just stopped and gave me a:

    Process terminated with status -1073741819

    I am now wondering, whether there is a limit of the signals and slots one can connect at a time. My program crashed when there were about 1000 slots connected.
    However, up to slightly below 1000 (like 950), it seems to work completely effortlessly.
    The other possibility is that I have some memory miss-management (googeling the above error indicates so). I am fairly new to C++.

    However, the transition from "it works in a millisecond", to "it crashes" when increasing the number of connections by 5% puzzles me.

    Has anyone got any experience with the excessive use (several hundred thousands would be nice) of slot/signal connections?

    any help greatly appreciated,

    t.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    250
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 49 Times in 36 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: excessive/non GUI use of signals and slots

    Use a debugger to figure out where it crashed. Perhaps it is just a race condition in your code somewhere. Pretty much impossible to tell what's going on otherwise..

Similar Threads

  1. Problem with SpinBox signals and slots
    By ramstormrage in forum Newbie
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2nd May 2008, 01:45
  2. Signals and Slots Across Threads
    By themusicalguy in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26th October 2007, 11:16
  3. signals and slots in plugins
    By anderl in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10th October 2007, 13:57
  4. Signals and Slots question
    By Thoosle in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 5th December 2006, 00:24
  5. Problem with Signals and Slots
    By Kapil in forum Newbie
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 15th February 2006, 11:35

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.