Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Tray context menu display issues

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    5
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Question Tray context menu display issues

    I'm running QT 4.4.0 and I'm having inconsistent behavior with the menu from my App Tray icon.
    Randomly when right clicking my App tray icon the menu will appear with a random degree of transparency to the point where it's almost invisible.
    Once the display issue occur, the menu will always show with the same transparency until restart of the App.
    I could not find a consistent way to reproduce the issue but right clicking several times in a row the tray icon will eventually trigger this display issue.
    I've seen it happen on XP and Vista.
    Anyone seen a similar issue? Is it a know bug? Anything to prevent the issue?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Tray context menu display issues

    Could you post a screenshot? Does it happen with the Tray Icon example too? Do you have any fancy XP themes installed?
    J-P Nurmi

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    5
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Tray context menu display issues

    I haven't tried the tray icon example, I'm not doing anything fancy. The menus in the App window it self do not have this issue, only the tray icon.
    I can reproduce the issue on any PC with XP or Vista.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    5
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Tray context menu display issues

    Okay I thoutgh I could work around the issue by adding the following code every time the tray icon is activated. But I'm pretty sure I should not have to do this And still I got the issue... but it seems to happen less frequently.

    Qt Code:
    1. qreal opacity = trayIconMenu->windowOpacity();
    2. if(opacity != 1.0) { // The menu is transparent let's force him to opaque
    3. trayIconMenu->setWindowOpacity(1.0);
    4. }
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    BTW I never change the opacity anywhere else...
    Last edited by r2hubert; 7th July 2008 at 22:58.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    5
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Unhappy Re: Tray context menu display issues

    Quote Originally Posted by jpn View Post
    Could you post a screenshot? Does it happen with the Tray Icon example too? Do you have any fancy XP themes installed?
    Well I just tried the example from QT examples/desktop/systray and I'm getting the same display bug! It might be a problem introduce with 4.4 and the way they manage the painters...

    Any thoughts?

    -- Renaud

Similar Threads

  1. Context Menu on QTableWidget
    By ankurjain in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 17th December 2009, 09:52
  2. context menu problem
    By dreamer in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25th May 2008, 13:18
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 25th June 2007, 20:40

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.