Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Possible bug of Qt on QListWidget?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Catalonia
    Posts
    266
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Question Possible bug of Qt on QListWidget?

    Hi all, I use Qt4.1.0 for WindowsXP. In my app I make a thumbnailing of images using a QListwidget. I set the icon size and the grid size. The problem is that after filling the list with the icons, the texts of the items are overlaped. I attach an image of the problem. But if I maximize th window, it causes the list widget to be painted again and this time it elides the text well. I want to know if it's the correct behaviour of the list: the user has to call to repaint everytime it inserts a new item in the list or it's just a "bug" of this version of Qt?

    Thanks
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Ukraine,Lviv
    Posts
    454
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Possible bug of Qt on QListWidget?

    If you use free win version the problem can hide there
    a life without programming is like an empty bottle

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Catalonia
    Posts
    266
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Possible bug of Qt on QListWidget?

    Quote Originally Posted by zlatko
    If you use free win version the problem can hide there
    Sorry zlatko my english is a little poor and I dont' understand "the problem can hide there". What dou you mean?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Possible bug of Qt on QListWidget?

    Are you using items or item widgets?
    At least with item widgets, there was some incorrect behaviour detected in 4.1.0 which was already fixed in 4.1.1.
    I remember noticing some issues with "convenience" itemviews and their item/cell widgets, like misplacement of widgets due to scrolling and so on..
    And uhm, as I recall, item widgets weren't introduced until 4.1.0, so I'd suggest you to update to 4.1.1..

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Catalonia
    Posts
    266
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Possible bug of Qt on QListWidget?

    Quote Originally Posted by jpn
    Are you using items or item widgets?
    I use QListWidgetItems

    It's useful to know that's a bug of Qt, so I don't need to fill all the code with repaints
    Last edited by SkripT; 27th March 2006 at 14:41.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Ukraine,Lviv
    Posts
    454
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Possible bug of Qt on QListWidget?

    Its not first thread about strange behaviour widgets in free win version of Qt library so IMHO problem can be hided actually it this realisation
    a life without programming is like an empty bottle

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Possible bug of Qt on QListWidget?

    Quote Originally Posted by SkripT
    It's useful to know that's a bug of Qt, so I don't need to fill all the code with repaints
    Sounds a bit harsh Did you check task tracker for such a bug?
    Are there any obstacles to updating to 4.1.1? It's just a mental image but I think convenience itemviews were improved quite a bit from 4.1.0 to 4.1.1.
    Or maybe it's just my personal experience with fighting with item widgets..

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Mountain View, CA
    Posts
    279
    Thanked 42 Times in 37 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Possible bug of Qt on QListWidget?

    Quote Originally Posted by zlatko
    Its not first thread about strange behaviour widgets in free win version of Qt library so IMHO problem can be hided actually it this realisation
    The GPL version of Qt4 is no different to the commercial versions (albeit lacking some features). The fact that it may contain bugs is entirely possible, but that is also the case with the X11 version, so stating the obvious doesn't really help with this guy's problem!

    @SkripT - Did you try again with Qt 4.1.1? The problem may be fixed there.
    Save yourself some pain. Learn C++ before learning Qt.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Catalonia
    Posts
    266
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Possible bug of Qt on QListWidget?

    Quote Originally Posted by Chicken Blood Machine
    @SkripT - Did you try again with Qt 4.1.1? The problem may be fixed there.
    Still no, I will comment it when I try it

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Catalonia
    Posts
    266
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Possible bug of Qt on QListWidget?

    Hi again. I've installed the new version of Qt (4.1.1). And the bug is ........... NOT fixed But I want to say that many others bugs has been solved like a bug very anoying with the scroll bars in the tree view. The behaviour now with my QListWidget is very strange: when I insert the QListWidgetItems for the first time it elides the text well (with the previous version doesn't). The problem comes when, after the items have been inserted, if I try to change the icon of the items it doesn't elide well. I attach an example. The strange is that this was working well in the previous version Maybe in the next version i will have more luck?
    Attached Images Attached Images

Similar Threads

  1. Segmentation Faul using addItem (QListWidget)
    By gnusar in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8th November 2008, 09:27
  2. how to sync a QTreeWidget and a QListWidget?
    By zl2k in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th September 2008, 20:55
  3. QListWidget Problem
    By pmabie in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th October 2007, 06:52
  4. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 15th December 2006, 11:52
  5. keypress while editing an item in QListWidget
    By Beluvius in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 4th April 2006, 09:56

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Qt is a trademark of The Qt Company.