Thread: QT + OpenGL + Thread => aaaahhhhh !

Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

Default QT + OpenGL + Thread => aaaahhhhh !

Hi, I've got a problem with threads and OpenGL in QT.
    Could you help me please ?

I'm currently using QT 4.4 with C++.
    In my program, I've got a class which is subclassing the GL widget : " class gldrawer : public QGLWidget ".
    Everything works well : i'm drawing a cloud of points, the maximum number i tried with my program was 31 000 000
    See attached file interface.jpg to get an idea...

I'm a student with not enough experience in the QT domain but I managed to implement a free fly camera, into my class gldrawer.
    That is probably not the best way to do it but it was easier for me to do it that way to begin with Qt + opengl.

The surface is updated ONLY when a user interact, for example when the user push the forward button or change colors... => CPU is at 0% most of the time.
    To have a fluid animation during moving phases (user keeps pushing forward for example), I managed to draw the scene indefinitely => CPU at 100% on one core.
    I did that with a timer and a 0ms delay : " qTimerRedraw.start(0); ". The main reason was in fact my lack of knowledge with QThread at the time (I was just beginning with Qt!).

The job is done, user can interact with opengl & GUI buttons in the same time, the event is just add to the event list so its sometimes a little lagging, but at least it's no crashing.
    (I've got more lags with QSliders when the opengl scene is huge and long to render...). I know this is not perfect, but it kinda works.

Now I'm trying to launch an automated animation : you click a button and the camera have to follow a list of points, indefinitely. You reclick and it stops the camera.
    My idea was to create a thread to run to the points and replace the camera at each step ; this way the loop is not in the same thread than the GUI => no freeze, can reclick to stop the camera.