Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: mingw32-make: Nothing to be done for 'first'.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    9
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Question mingw32-make: Nothing to be done for 'first'.

    after qmake -project and qmake hello.pro
    when i make i get the following error "mingw32-make: Nothing to be done for 'first'."
    i am using windows vista and new to qt plzz help

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: mingw32-make: Nothing to be done for 'first'.

    What does the generated project (.pro) file look like? What files did you have in the folder when you ran 'qmake -project'?
    J-P Nurmi

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    9
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: mingw32-make: Nothing to be done for 'first'.

    when i ececuted qmake -project i got hello.pro
    after qmake hello.pro i got Makefile and after that when i excuted make command then i got the above mnetioned error

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    9
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: mingw32-make: Nothing to be done for 'first'.

    i have following files in the dir:
    hello.cpp
    hello.pro
    Makefile

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: mingw32-make: Nothing to be done for 'first'.

    It's not an error. It's just saying that there is nothing to do. Either there is no necessary rules in the makefile or you built the application already. That's why I asked you to show the project file to get a grip what kind of makefile gets generated. Anyway, what happens if you type "make clean" and then "make"?
    J-P Nurmi

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    9
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: mingw32-make: Nothing to be done for 'first'.

    when i make the file in windows where should the exe file be loacated??

    when executing make clear then make
    i am getting almost 37 files named makefile.hello.hello....................

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    9
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: mingw32-make: Nothing to be done for 'first'.

    ################################################## ####################
    # Automatically generated by qmake (2.01a) Thu 14. Aug 17:17:24 2008
    ################################################## ####################

    TEMPLATE = subdirs

    # Directories
    SUBDIRS += hello.pro

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    9
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: mingw32-make: Nothing to be done for 'first'.

    Qt Code:
    1. #include <QApplication>
    2. #include <QLabel>
    3.  
    4. int main(int argc, char *argv[])
    5. {
    6. QApplication app(argc, argv);
    7. QLabel *label = new QLabel("Hello Qt!");
    8. label->show();
    9. return app.exec();
    10. }
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    trying to build the above code
    Last edited by jpn; 14th August 2008 at 13:15. Reason: missing [code] tags

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: mingw32-make: Nothing to be done for 'first'.

    Make sure that there are only sources in your project's directory, run "qmake -project" once more and post the resulting .pro file.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    9
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: mingw32-make: Nothing to be done for 'first'.

    ################################################## ####################
    # Automatically generated by qmake (2.01a) Fri 15. Aug 01:27:23 2008
    ################################################## ####################

    TEMPLATE = subdirs

    # Directories

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    9
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: mingw32-make: Nothing to be done for 'first'.

    getting the same error again after qmake hello.pro and make

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    9
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: mingw32-make: Nothing to be done for 'first'.

    should i use open suse for qt programming or windows vista will it make any difference

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: mingw32-make: Nothing to be done for 'first'.

    Quote Originally Posted by itssaurav2004 View Post
    ################################################## ####################
    # Automatically generated by qmake (2.01a) Fri 15. Aug 01:27:23 2008
    ################################################## ####################

    TEMPLATE = subdirs

    # Directories
    The project file wouldn't look like this if you ran "qmake -project" in a directory which contains hello.cpp and nothing more, like jacek suggested.
    J-P Nurmi

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: mingw32-make: Nothing to be done for 'first'.

    I'm reading the same book: C++ GUI Programming with QT4. Note it's freely available for download.

    Just helping the next guy, since I came across this because I was stuck too. Starting with the one sample file hello.cpp in the book, there are three commands necessary:

    qmake -project (makes the hello.pro file)
    qmake hello.pro (makes the makefile file and output dirs)
    make (builds the exe file and puts in .\debug)

    Below is the output from my Windows command shell window to follow along.


    C:\save\code\QT\hello>qmake -project

    C:\save\code\QT\hello>qmake hello.pro

    C:\save\code\QT\hello>make
    mingw32-make -f Makefile.Debug
    mingw32-make[1]: Entering directory `C:/save/code/QT/hello'
    g++ -c -g -frtti -fexceptions -mthreads -Wall -DUNICODE -DQT_LARGEFILE_SUPPORT -
    DQT_DLL -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT -DQT_NEEDS_QMAIN -I"..\..
    \..\..\Qt\4.4.3\include\QtCore" -I"..\..\..\..\Qt\4.4.3\include\QtCore" -I"..\..
    \..\..\Qt\4.4.3\include\QtGui" -I"..\..\..\..\Qt\4.4.3\include\QtGui" -I"..\..\.
    .\..\Qt\4.4.3\include" -I"." -I"c:\Qt\4.4.3\include\ActiveQt" -I"debug" -I"." -I
    "..\..\..\..\Qt\4.4.3\mkspecs\win32-g++" -o debug\hello.o hello.cpp
    g++ -enable-stdcall-fixup -Wl,-enable-auto-import -Wl,-enable-runtime-pseudo-rel
    oc -mthreads -Wl -Wl,-subsystem,windows -o debug\hello.exe debug/hello.o -L"c:\
    Qt\4.4.3\lib" -lmingw32 -lqtmaind -lQtGuid4 -lQtCored4
    mingw32-make[1]: Leaving directory `C:/save/code/QT/hello'

    C:\save\code\QT\hello>dir .\debug
    Volume in drive C has no label.
    Volume Serial Number is 4855-0A59

    Directory of C:\save\code\QT\hello\debug

    10/04/2008 03:11 PM <DIR> .
    10/04/2008 03:11 PM <DIR> ..
    10/04/2008 03:11 PM 1,561,390 hello.exe
    10/04/2008 03:11 PM 461,938 hello.o
    2 File(s) 2,023,328 bytes
    2 Dir(s) 13,894,422,528 bytes free

    C:\save\code\QT\hello>

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    2
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: mingw32-make: Nothing to be done for 'first'.

    May be a late response;
    I got this error when my application was unable to find required DLLs. There was no run time error or any other indication from the application.
    Regards,

    Quote Originally Posted by dangdude View Post
    I'm reading the same book: C++ GUI Programming with QT4. Note it's freely available for download.

    Just helping the next guy, since I came across this because I was stuck too. Starting with the one sample file hello.cpp in the book, there are three commands necessary:

    qmake -project (makes the hello.pro file)
    qmake hello.pro (makes the makefile file and output dirs)
    make (builds the exe file and puts in .\debug)

    Below is the output from my Windows command shell window to follow along.


    C:\save\code\QT\hello>qmake -project

    C:\save\code\QT\hello>qmake hello.pro

    C:\save\code\QT\hello>make
    mingw32-make -f Makefile.Debug
    mingw32-make[1]: Entering directory `C:/save/code/QT/hello'
    g++ -c -g -frtti -fexceptions -mthreads -Wall -DUNICODE -DQT_LARGEFILE_SUPPORT -
    DQT_DLL -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT -DQT_NEEDS_QMAIN -I"..\..
    \..\..\Qt\4.4.3\include\QtCore" -I"..\..\..\..\Qt\4.4.3\include\QtCore" -I"..\..
    \..\..\Qt\4.4.3\include\QtGui" -I"..\..\..\..\Qt\4.4.3\include\QtGui" -I"..\..\.
    .\..\Qt\4.4.3\include" -I"." -I"c:\Qt\4.4.3\include\ActiveQt" -I"debug" -I"." -I
    "..\..\..\..\Qt\4.4.3\mkspecs\win32-g++" -o debug\hello.o hello.cpp
    g++ -enable-stdcall-fixup -Wl,-enable-auto-import -Wl,-enable-runtime-pseudo-rel
    oc -mthreads -Wl -Wl,-subsystem,windows -o debug\hello.exe debug/hello.o -L"c:\
    Qt\4.4.3\lib" -lmingw32 -lqtmaind -lQtGuid4 -lQtCored4
    mingw32-make[1]: Leaving directory `C:/save/code/QT/hello'

    C:\save\code\QT\hello>dir .\debug
    Volume in drive C has no label.
    Volume Serial Number is 4855-0A59

    Directory of C:\save\code\QT\hello\debug

    10/04/2008 03:11 PM <DIR> .
    10/04/2008 03:11 PM <DIR> ..
    10/04/2008 03:11 PM 1,561,390 hello.exe
    10/04/2008 03:11 PM 461,938 hello.o
    2 File(s) 2,023,328 bytes
    2 Dir(s) 13,894,422,528 bytes free

    C:\save\code\QT\hello>

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: mingw32-make: Nothing to be done for 'first'.

    Five years ago the OP's problem was that the PRO file was self-referential. The first time qmake ran it generated a Makefile for the subdirs template and then recursed into each subdir and repeated the process. Problem was that the 'subdir' referred tot the same PRO file again. Eventually this would terminate, leaving the multitude of Makefiles described. Running make at that time would look to see if qmake needed to be run, decide it did not, and produce the nothing to do message. At no time did the OP's PRO file include the C++ sources... Jacek, jpn and dangdude all showed what was wrong.

Similar Threads

  1. Window OS make distclean && qmake && make one line
    By patrik08 in forum General Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 22nd March 2007, 10:43
  2. Compiling with Qmake/Make
    By VireX in forum Newbie
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 22nd February 2007, 05:57

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.