Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Using Qt4 with Borland C++ 5.02

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    172
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Unhappy Using Qt4 with Borland C++ 5.02

    I wish to use qt4 with borland c++ IDE v5.02....any one knows how to do it???



    Thanks

    Nupul

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,363
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,012 Times in 4,791 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Using Qt4 with Borland C++ 5.02

    It'll be hard as Qt4 Open Source (and I assume this is the one you are interested in) doesn't support Borland Compiler, so you have to use MinGW. I don't think building Borland enabled installation is possible as it would require a running borland-oriented qmake.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    172
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Using Qt4 with Borland C++ 5.02

    well you see i have the online book "C++ gui programming with Qt3" and it says that the demo CD along with it has Qt3 (open source) which can be installed with borland IDE...and was just curious....

    A trivial query though: will it help if i set the include paths to the Qtdir???

    Nupul

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    New Delhi,India
    Posts
    226
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Using Qt4 with Borland C++ 5.02

    Quote Originally Posted by nupul
    well you see i have the online book "C++ gui programming with Qt3" and it says that the demo CD along with it has Qt3 (open source) which can be installed with borland IDE...and was just curious....

    A trivial query though: will it help if i set the include paths to the Qtdir???

    Nupul
    I have never tried it myself and don't have much of an idea.. hope that it might help you..

    Compiler Notes- Borlan C++

    Query for the same

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,363
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,012 Times in 4,791 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Using Qt4 with Borland C++ 5.02

    Qt3 and Qt4 differ. There was no Open Source version of Qt3 for Windows, so surely no Qt3 Open Source version for Borland compilers. Qt4 open source is only supported by MinGW. It can also be used with MSVC but you have to hack the installation and use illegal components. A list of supported platforms is present at Trolltech site, take a look at it yourself.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Using Qt4 with Borland C++ 5.02

    Qt 4 does not support the Borland compiler, whether you have the open source or commercial edition.

    It's not only a question of build system, as far as I can recall the Borland C++ compiler is unable to compile part of the Qt 4 source code.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.