Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Font display problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    London
    Posts
    206
    Thanks
    40
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Font display problem

    Hello,
    When I run applications on my board(ep9315 arm9), i get an error message, and none of the fonts are displayed on the screen. The error message is liike that:
    Initializing QFontEngineQPF failed for /lib/fonts/DejaVuSans-Bold.ttf
    Initializing QFontEngineQPF failed for /lib/fonts/DejaVuSans.ttf

    Does anybody have any idea? How can i solve that?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,360
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Font display problem

    Did you put those font files yourself there?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    London
    Posts
    206
    Thanks
    40
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: Font display problem

    Yes, i copied them myself, should i do something different?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,360
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Font display problem

    Qtopia doesn't support freetype fonts through QPF and you might have the freetype renderer disabled or something. I think you have to generate a proper font definition from the freetype font or register the freetype font with the freetype engine on your device installation.

    Have you read this?
    http://doc.trolltech.com/4.3/qtopiacore-fonts.html

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    London
    Posts
    206
    Thanks
    40
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: Font display problem

    When i was compiling qtopia core for my card, i added -freetype option to configure script.

    But the result didnt change. How can i "generate a proper font definition from the freetype font or register the freetype font with the freetype engine on your device installation" ?

    And one last thing; how wil i run qconfig for my card? before compiling the qtopia package?(i mean, how is it used?..)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,360
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Font display problem

    Quote Originally Posted by yagabey View Post
    But the result didnt change. How can i "generate a proper font definition from the freetype font or register the freetype font with the freetype engine on your device installation" ?
    Follow the link I gave you.

    And one last thing; how wil i run qconfig for my card? before compiling the qtopia package?(i mean, how is it used?..)
    qconfig will let you define or undefine certain macros that will influence compilation of Qtopia, so you have to use it before compiling Qtopia

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,360
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Font display problem

    Quote Originally Posted by yagabey View Post
    But the result didnt change. How can i "generate a proper font definition from the freetype font or register the freetype font with the freetype engine on your device installation" ?
    Follow the link I gave you.

    And one last thing; how wil i run qconfig for my card? before compiling the qtopia package?(i mean, how is it used?..)
    qconfig will let you define or undefine certain macros that will influence compilation of Qtopia, so you have to use it before compiling Qtopia

  8. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    yagabey (27th August 2008)

Similar Threads

  1. problem with Font changing
    By phillip_Qt in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 25th April 2008, 04:37
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25th December 2007, 10:35
  3. Graphics view display problem.
    By kiranraj in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20th July 2007, 07:08
  4. Font Problem
    By prakash in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 13th April 2006, 16:53
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th April 2006, 08:20

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.