Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Memory leaks..

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4

    Default Memory leaks..

    Has anyone run Qt with BoundsChecker or some such memory leak checker? There
    are lots of memory not freed at the end of the program, and this also
    happens with the example programs. It may be that these leaks are not really
    leaks, but just memory that is not freed at the end of the program, but it
    sure looks ugly. =) I think there should be some way to free these memory
    blocks properly.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,364
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,012 Times in 4,791 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Memory leaks..

    Qt doesn't contain memory leaks. If you experience leaks, they are either from your application or from 3rd party libraries or false positives.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    travelling
    Posts
    1,116
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 127 Times in 121 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Memory leaks..

    Qt make extensive use of global static objects under the hoods that may be destroyed (and free their memory) after the memory checking tool starts monitoring alloc/free operations so which can generate a bunch of fals-positives.
    Current Qt projects : QCodeEdit, RotiDeCode

Similar Threads

  1. Memory leaks in QT apps
    By sar_van81 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 19th July 2008, 08:32
  2. creating/deleting Objects // memory leaks
    By janus in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27th March 2008, 18:17
  3. Memory leaks when read/write to DOM
    By SailinShoes in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 20th March 2008, 11:51
  4. memory leaks
    By Fastman in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th March 2008, 08:00
  5. why there are memory leaks in Qt?
    By cocalele in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th March 2006, 09:55

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.