Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Qwt for Mac OS X

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    667
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 80 Times in 74 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Qwt for Mac OS X

    Hi,

    Is there a way by which I can get qwt running for mac (Open Source).

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,253
    Thanked 860 Times in 809 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qwt for Mac OS X

    Quote Originally Posted by munna
    Is there a way by which I can get qwt running for mac (Open Source).
    Qwt depends on Qt only, not on any particular OS.
    Build it wherever (including the Mac) you want and use it.

    Uwe

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    13
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Qwt for Mac OS X

    On running the qmake command for building qwt on Mac OS X 10,
    I get the following error!

    QGDict::hashKeyString: Invalid null key

    What do I do to fix this and successfully run qmake?

    PS: I have installed QT 3.3.6!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qwt for Mac OS X

    You already have Qt 3.3.6 installed.
    • Have you installed Qt yourself? Built Qt from sources?
    • Which version of Qwt is this?
    • When exactly do you see this error message? Can you post a complete build log?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    13
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Qwt for Mac OS X

    * Have you installed Qt yourself? Built Qt from sources?
    Yes, I have built it from the source following the instruction manual for installing Qt/Mac version 3.3.6 (for Mac OS X).

    * Which version of Qwt is this?
    Qwt-4.2.0

    * When exactly do you see this error message? Can you post a complete build log?
    In order to build Qwt, I just gave qmake command on the terminal and this is what i got:

    comp:/developer/qwt-4.2.0 user$ qmake
    QGDict::hashKeyString: Invalid null key
    comp:/developer/qwt-4.2.0 user$
    Last edited by Shambhavi; 17th April 2006 at 08:48.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qwt for Mac OS X

    Quote Originally Posted by Shambhavi
    In order to build Qwt, I just gave qmake command on the terminal and this is what i got:
    Just to make sure, which qmake is this? The one in Qt 3.3.6? What is the value of the PATH environment variable? What is the output of which qmake? Is there another version of Qt installed on this system?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    13
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Qwt for Mac OS X

    On running 'qmake -v' i get:
    Qmake version: 1.07a (Qt 3.3.6)
    Qmake is free software from Trolltech AS.

    $PATH gives:
    -bash: /Developer/qt/bin:/bin:/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/sbin: No such file or directory

    $QTDIR gives:
    -bash: /Developer/qt: is a directory

    I have tried installing Qt-4.1.1-mac-opensource, but havent set the evironment variables for it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qwt for Mac OS X

    Everything looks correct. I had already seen reports about this specific error message, but I thought they had been fixed in newer versions of Qt 3.

    Is this QGDict::hashKeyString: Invalid null key error really a showstopper? I mean, qmake may have generated a Makefile despite the error message?

    Additionally I think Qwt has not been tested on Mac OS. You might want to ask for help on qwt-interest.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    13
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Qwt for Mac OS X

    If I ignore this error and proceed with a make command: I get the following :

    test -d lib/ || mkdir -p lib/
    rm -f libqwt.4.2.0.dylib libqwt.dylib libqwt.4.dylib libqwt.4.2.dylib
    c++ -headerpad_max_install_names -prebind -dynamiclib -compatibility_version 4.2 -current_version 4.2.0 -install_name libqwt.4.dylib -o libqwt.4.2.0.dylib src/obj/qwt_autoscl.o src/obj/qwt_curve.o src/obj/qwt_data.o src/obj/qwt_dimap.o src/obj/qwt_double_rect.o src/obj/qwt_event_pattern.o src/obj/qwt_grid.o src/obj/qwt_layout_metrics.o src/obj/qwt_legend.o src/obj/qwt_marker.o src/obj/qwt_math.o src/obj/qwt_painter.o src/obj/qwt_paint_buffer.o src/obj/qwt_picker.o src/obj/qwt_picker_machine.o src/obj/qwt_plot.o src/obj/qwt_plot_axis.o src/obj/qwt_plot_curve.o src/obj/qwt_plot_grid.o src/obj/qwt_plot_item.o src/obj/qwt_plot_print.o src/obj/qwt_plot_marker.o src/obj/qwt_plot_layout.o src/obj/qwt_plot_printfilter.o src/obj/qwt_plot_canvas.o src/obj/qwt_plot_picker.o src/obj/qwt_plot_zoomer.o src/obj/qwt_push_button.o src/obj/qwt_rect.o src/obj/qwt_scale.o src/obj/qwt_scldiv.o src/obj/qwt_scldraw.o src/obj/qwt_spline.o src/obj/qwt_symbol.o src/obj/qwt_dyngrid_layout.o src/obj/qwt_arrbtn.o src/obj/qwt_analog_clock.o src/obj/qwt_compass.o src/obj/qwt_compass_rose.o src/obj/qwt_dial.o src/obj/qwt_dial_needle.o src/obj/qwt_counter.o src/obj/qwt_drange.o src/obj/qwt_knob.o src/obj/qwt_sclif.o src/obj/qwt_sldbase.o src/obj/qwt_slider.o src/obj/qwt_text.o src/obj/qwt_thermo.o src/obj/qwt_wheel.o src/obj/moc_qwt_legend.o src/obj/moc_qwt_picker.o src/obj/moc_qwt_plot.o src/obj/moc_qwt_plot_canvas.o src/obj/moc_qwt_plot_picker.o src/obj/moc_qwt_plot_zoomer.o src/obj/moc_qwt_push_button.o src/obj/moc_qwt_scale.o src/obj/moc_qwt_dyngrid_layout.o src/obj/moc_qwt_analog_clock.o src/obj/moc_qwt_compass.o src/obj/moc_qwt_dial.o src/obj/moc_qwt_counter.o src/obj/moc_qwt_knob.o src/obj/moc_qwt_sldbase.o src/obj/moc_qwt_slider.o src/obj/moc_qwt_thermo.o src/obj/moc_qwt_wheel.o -L/Developer/qt/lib
    ld: warning prebinding disabled because of undefined symbols
    ld: Undefined symbols:
    __ZN7QGArray10deleteDataEPNS_10array_dataE
    __ZN7QGArray7newDataEv
    ...
    /*There are Hundreds of such symbols listed which I am removing because if the word limit constraint*/
    ....
    __ZN8QVariant7asBrushEv
    __ZN8QVariantC1ERK6QBrush
    /usr/bin/libtool: internal link edit command failed
    make: *** [lib/libqwt.4.2.0.dylib] Error 1

    Does this help? Will making any change in the .pro file help?
    Thanks a lot Dimitri for your prompt replies and help so far!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qwt for Mac OS X

    All the missing symbols are part of the Qt library. For some reason, while creating libqwt.4.2.0.dylib, the linker does not link with the Qt library and this seems to be required on Mac OS.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    13
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Qwt for Mac OS X

    Hurray I finally got QWT running on my Mac!
    I removed CONFIG += thread int the .pro file of Qwt and the message went away and compiled fine.

    Thank a lot for all your help!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qwt for Mac OS X

    Ah, I see. Qwt expects a threaded version of the Qt library.
    Looks like you've built Qt with thread support disabled.

    This doesn't explain the cryptic qmake error message though...

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,253
    Thanked 860 Times in 809 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qwt for Mac OS X

    Quote Originally Posted by dimitri
    Qwt expects a threaded version of the Qt library. Looks like you've built Qt with thread support disabled.
    In fact Qwt doesn't need threads. The only reason why it is enabled in qwt.pro is that the majority uses the multithreaded Qt library and Qwt/Qt need to be built with the same thread option.

    Uwe

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qwt for Mac OS X

    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe
    In fact Qwt doesn't need threads.
    Sure, I said it expects thread support, not that it needs thread support.

Similar Threads

  1. QWT embedded
    By damien in forum Qwt
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20th February 2011, 20:26
  2. Step by step Qwt on MinGW
    By Doug Broadwell in forum Qwt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd January 2009, 01:19
  3. QWT introduction
    By nitriles in forum Qwt
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 28th September 2007, 11:48
  4. How to upgrade Qwt 5.0.1 to Qwt 5.0.2
    By luffy27 in forum Qwt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th July 2007, 20:55
  5. use interesting QWT Library with QT3.X
    By raphaelf in forum Qwt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd January 2006, 12:24

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.