Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: changes in code not making any difference in output

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    52
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: changes in code not making any difference in output

    previously when i had this problem it somehow got solved after restarting.but this problem arises after a regular interval of time.This time restarting is also not helping.I am compiling in the right directory.saving changes of right file,right directory.can u please help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,368
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,017 Times in 4,793 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: changes in code not making any difference in output

    Are you using Visual Studio? It is known to play such tricks.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    52
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: changes in code not making any difference in output

    No I am not using visual studio.I am using notepad & textpad

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,368
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,017 Times in 4,793 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: changes in code not making any difference in output

    Maybe you somehow operated on different files? Could you verify that the size/access date of the appropriate files get changed and calling make afterwards doesn't rebuild them?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    52
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: changes in code not making any difference in output

    I am operating on the correct file.I also verified the modified date is shown the latest.i.e.I modified it today so it is showing todays date.but after make there is no change in the output. make returned the following:
    D:\Qt\4.4.3\AnalogWidgets\analogwidgets\code>make
    mingw32-make -f Makefile.Release all
    mingw32-make[1]: Entering directory `D:/Qt/4.4.3/AnalogWidgets/analogwidgets/cod
    e'
    g++ -c -march=pentium3 -Os -Wall -pipe -mfpmath=sse -Wall -frtti -fexceptions -m
    threads -DUNICODE -DQT_LARGEFILE_SUPPORT -DQT_NO_DEBUG -DQT_SCRIPT_LIB -DQT_SVG_
    LIB -DQT_XML_LIB -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT -I"..\..\..\incl
    ude\QtCore" -I"..\..\..\include\QtCore" -I"..\..\..\include\QtGui" -I"..\..\..\i
    nclude\QtGui" -I"..\..\..\include\QtXml" -I"..\..\..\include\QtXml" -I"..\..\..\
    include\QtSvg" -I"..\..\..\include\QtSvg" -I"..\..\..\include\QtScript" -I"..\..
    \..\include\QtScript" -I"..\..\..\include" -I"..\analogwidgets" -I"d:\Qt\4.4.3\i
    nclude\ActiveQt" -I"tmp\moc\release_shared" -I"." -I"..\..\..\mkspecs\win32-g++"
    -o ..\objects\thermometer.o thermometer.cpp
    ar -M < object_script.libanalogwidgets.Release
    mingw32-make[1]: Leaving directory `D:/Qt/4.4.3/AnalogWidgets/analogwidgets/code
    '
    mingw32-make -f Makefile.Debug all
    mingw32-make[1]: Entering directory `D:/Qt/4.4.3/AnalogWidgets/analogwidgets/cod
    e'
    mingw32-make[1]: Nothing to be done for `all'.
    mingw32-make[1]: Leaving directory `D:/Qt/4.4.3/AnalogWidgets/analogwidgets/code
    '

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,368
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,017 Times in 4,793 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: changes in code not making any difference in output

    From what I see thermometer.cpp was recreated, so there definitely is some change in the output. "ar" is used to build static libraries. If you use the library for any projects, you have to rebuild those projects as well.

Similar Threads

  1. How to Compile VTKDesigner2 with Qt?
    By alfredoaal in forum Newbie
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 5th September 2008, 05:34
  2. Output is there..but code doesnt look to be Perfect..!
    By salmanmanekia in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13th June 2008, 09:04
  3. Making source code available
    By vermarajeev in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th June 2007, 22:01
  4. problem with linking
    By mickey in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: 12th August 2006, 21:41

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Qt is a trademark of The Qt Company.