Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: make install equivalent in qmake ...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    258
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 19 Times in 16 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default make install equivalent in qmake ...

    How do I do something equivalent to make DESTDIR=... install in qmake?
    since there is not even ./configure to which one could pass a --prefix flag, one can only compile stuff but not automatically move the compiled stuff to the provided installation-directories. What mechanism does qmake provide for this task? I need to controll where exactly the executables, the documentation and the libs are being installed.

    Thanx in advance
    momesana

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    N.B. Canada
    Posts
    47
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: make install equivalent in qmake ...

    Since software installation is os, and in case of Linux, somewhat a distro, specific issue, AFAIK, qmake doesn't really provide much in that area.

    You could take a look at: http://doc.trolltech.com/4.1/deployment.html

    But even there, in case of X11, they conscede:

    There is no standard package management on Unix, so the method we present below is a generic solution. See the documentation for your target system for information on how to create a package.
    So if you want some sort of install mechanism, you'll have to make an installer, on Windows, or a distro package on Linux. I don't know about mac.

    Of course, you could make like a bash script that runs qmake, make, and then if both succeded, move the resulting stuff to appropriate places.

    Or you could modify the makefile to have the install part. You would have to do this every time you run qmake.

    Bojan
    The march of progress:
    C:
    printf("%10.2f", x);
    C++:
    cout << setw(10) << setprecision(2) << showpoint << x;
    Java:
    java.text.NumberFormat formatter = java.text.NumberFormat.getNumberInstance();
    formatter.setMinimumFractionDigits(2);
    formatter.setMaximumFractionDigits(2);
    String s = formatter.format(x);
    for (int i = s.length(); i < 10; i++) System.out.print(' ');
    System.out.print(s);

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    8,416
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1,544 Times in 1,494 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: make install equivalent in qmake ...

    See the qmake manual command section on INSTALLS

    Cheers,
    _

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: make install equivalent in qmake ...

    And how it works in Qt4? There are no INSTALLS variable i can set for my .pro file.
    Greetings, ar

Similar Threads

  1. QMake make install problems
    By cookiem in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 4th December 2008, 16:34
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th May 2008, 21:11
  3. Window OS make distclean && qmake && make one line
    By patrik08 in forum General Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 22nd March 2007, 11:43
  4. Compiling with Qmake/Make
    By VireX in forum Newbie
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 22nd February 2007, 06:57
  5. Mac OSX install Tiger intel&ppc qmake
    By patrik08 in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 6th July 2006, 19:54

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.