Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: What are the dependencies that a .exe file needs??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    143
    Thanks
    8

    Default What are the dependencies that a .exe file needs??

    What are the dependencies that a .exe file needs to run correctly without any error in any given system??

    Can these dependecies be bundled into one single executable file?

    Its hard if the system does not have Qt or mingw installed.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts

    Default Re: What are the dependencies that a .exe file needs??

    What are the dependencies that a .exe file needs to run correctly without any error in any given system??
    Please look at Dependency Walker

    Can these dependecies be bundled into one single executable file?
    Yes. You should build Qt and your application staticly.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    143
    Thanks
    8

    Default Re: What are the dependencies that a .exe file needs??

    can you elaborate on how to built the application statistically??

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    229
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 29 Times in 28 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: What are the dependencies that a .exe file needs??


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    79
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: What are the dependencies that a .exe file needs??

    Hi,
    I have read the document linked above, but if I compile qt on my machine with this

    configure -static

    will I afterwards be able to compile non-static programs still?

    Thanks for you hints in advance
    Olli

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    229
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 29 Times in 28 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: What are the dependencies that a .exe file needs??

    No you won't because Qt is build for static linking.

    But what you could do is what I do: Build Qt twice.
    First in directory ...\Qt-4.5.0-static for static linking.
    Second in ...\Qt-4.5.0-dynamic for dynamically linked applications.

    Your project settings have to point to the desired Qt "version".

Similar Threads

  1. Can you specify a file engine?
    By skimber in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18th September 2008, 16:54
  2. Set up the Qt4.3.2 with Visual Studio 2005
    By lamoda in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 30th January 2008, 07:51
  3. file renaming on windows
    By jdd81 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2nd October 2007, 20:41
  4. copy and run a .exe file in another system
    By sabeesh in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22nd August 2007, 11:05
  5. qt-3.3.8 fail in scratchbox
    By nass in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25th May 2007, 16:21

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.