Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Releasing a program

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    68
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Arrow Releasing a program

    Hi
    I make my programs by writing .h and .cpp and main and .ui files and running qmake -project , qmake *.pro and make on them.but this process gives me an executable in debug folder that needs three .dll files(if i remove qt paths from path variable).I have two questions.
    1-Does the release version needs those .dll files?
    2-How can i make a release version of my software?
    thanks
    Try to be useful for your society,not important.
    ------------------------------------------------------
    Every thing that has a beginning,Has an end.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default Re: Releasing a program

    You can add in your .pro file if is release version or debug version by using some variable.The values stored in the CONFIG variable are treated specially by qmake. Each of the possible values can be used as the condition for a scope.


    Qt Code:
    1. if it is release version
    2. {
    3. CONFIG += release
    4. CONFIG -= debug
    5. }
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Qt Code:
    1. win32 {
    2. debug {
    3. CONFIG += release //We are in debug mode. Qt was built in debug mode.
    4. }
    5. }
    6. }
    7.  
    8. //Outside of debug mode means you are already in release mode
    9. {
    10. CONFIG += debug
    11. }
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sta. Eugènia de Berga (Vic - Barcelona - Spain)
    Posts
    869
    Thanks
    70
    Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Releasing a program

    Hi,

    Posting this one more time will produce an automatic release.
    Òscar Llarch i Galán

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Releasing a program

    I tend to use "qmake -config release" or "qmake -config debug" instead of hard coding anything to .pro files.
    J-P Nurmi

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    68
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Releasing a program

    I made a release version of my program but it still needed those .dlls(when i removed the needed paths)
    So what is the difference between release and debug mode?
    and could you explain about unix and max os x modes in qmake?
    thanks again
    Try to be useful for your society,not important.
    ------------------------------------------------------
    Every thing that has a beginning,Has an end.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Releasing a program

    Of course you still need libraries. The release version just links to release libraries, whereas the debug version links to debug libraries. With static linking you can embed the libraries into the executable, though.
    J-P Nurmi

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    68
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Releasing a program

    How can i do static linking?
    Try to be useful for your society,not important.
    ------------------------------------------------------
    Every thing that has a beginning,Has an end.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,380
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 1,005 Times in 913 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60
    Wiki edits
    5

    Default Re: Releasing a program

    Come on, use google or look at the docs:
    Deploying Qt Applications
    or
    Building static applications

Similar Threads

  1. Releasing a program
    By Dante in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13th April 2009, 19:43
  2. Releasing a program
    By Dante in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 13th April 2009, 19:20
  3. Replies: 19
    Last Post: 21st January 2008, 09:13
  4. Version setting in QT Program
    By sabeesh in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24th October 2007, 12:07
  5. QT MySQL
    By sabeeshcs in forum Newbie
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12th January 2007, 04:19

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.