Thread: Qt Learning resources

Thanks

Default Qt Learning resources

Hello, I'm a Electronic engineer and MFC C++ programmer(6 years commercial experience). Currently I use plain C to program microcontrollers of my devices without any graphics . I was considering to learn a new language so it both be useful for embedded programming and also desktop programing. I was considering Java and C# until I bumped into Qt. It was appealing for me because it is native and I'm already a native programmer.
    where should I begin? I'm looking for worthy resources.

also another question:
    is Qt message based like MFC? I mean in MFC we have CCmdTarget that I noticed is absent in Qt. If it is not then who objects communicate without violating encapsulation?

regards,

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

Default Re: Qt Learning resources

Qt Assistant is the best resource for getting started. It has every thing that you need to know.

3. The following user says thank you to munna for this useful post:

Saman (1st May 2009)

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

Quote Originally Posted by Saman View Post
    is Qt message based like MFC? I mean in MFC we have CCmdTarget that I noticed is absent in Qt. If it is not then who objects communicate without violating encapsulation?
    As you will find out when reading the docs (by far the best I have ever found for any library thus far) Qt offers two mecanism for inter-object communication : events and signals/slots and these are not the only useful feature of its object model.
    Current Qt projects : QCodeEdit, RotiDeCode

5. The following user says thank you to fullmetalcoder for this useful post:

Saman (1st May 2009)

Thanks

Thanks,
    is there also a good PDF format resource for offline reading. All I could find were very brief introduction.