Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Problem: 1 Project Folder on 2 Computers with different paths?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Vienna
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Problem: 1 Project Folder on 2 Computers with different paths?

    Hello,

    i want to develop my Diploma-Thesis with QT with my Notebook (at the University) and with my (much stronger an faster..) Home-PC @ home.
    My intend is to have one working directory (for developing..) which i will simply copy from the Notebook to the home PC. (and vice versa..)
    For Testing i did the Textfinder Project from the help section.

    The Problem is:
    I have different path's to the working directories at my Notebook and at my home PC.
    QT seems to remember the whole Path where the build was made.
    And for that reason, QT did not find the files..


    My question:
    I've already changed permissions to: chmod -R -v a+rwx TextFinder, in case of missing rwx -rights to all.
    So i am looking for a file (make-file, main project file) to edit the right paths, but did not find it until now...(btw. there ar no paths in the make file?)
    Or do i have to do some Project settings in QT


    System:
    I'm new to QT and have installed QT qt-sdk-linux-x86-opensource-2009.02.bin under ubuntu Linux 9.04 (Qt Creator 1.1.0,Based on Qt 4.5.1,Built on Apr 22 2009 at 12:20:23, From revision e81e94cb44)

    thanks,
    Astronomy


    ERROR MESSAGE

    Could not parse /home/yoda/QT/TextFinder/../../../../../../home/user/1_UNI/AstroDiplom/TextFinder/TextFinder.pro. The Qt4 run configuration TextFinder can not be started.
    Not a file(0):/home/yoda/QT/TextFinder/../../../../../../home/user/1_UNI/AstroDiplom/TextFinder/TextFinder.pro not readable.
    Could not parse /home/yoda/QT/TextFinder/../../../../../../home/user/1_UNI/AstroDiplom/TextFinder/TextFinder.pro. The Qt4 run configuration TextFinder can not be started.
    Last edited by Astronomy; 16th May 2009 at 13:15.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,380
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 1,005 Times in 913 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60
    Wiki edits
    5

    Default Re: Problem: 1 Project Folder on 2 Computers with different paths?

    Hi, I also work with my laptop and my desktop computer at home. To avoid the problem when switching, I use a svn repository at my desktop computer. There I store - of course - only the *cpp and *h files, so I just have to sync and all works well because every machine has it owns make and object files... May this is also a solution for you.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Vienna
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Problem: 1 Project Folder on 2 Computers with different paths?

    Hi Lykurg,
    thanx 4 the tipp, I have some kind of subersion @ ubuntu 9.04
    I'll take a look at it. But i'm not quite sure if that will work fo me.
    But thanks 4 the hint

    greetz A.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Problem: 1 Project Folder on 2 Computers with different paths?

    Did you run qmake before running make? Also make sure you "make distclean" your project before moving it to another machine.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Problem: 1 Project Folder on 2 Computers with different paths?

    Mmmh - but there was a versioning system which did not need a repository. Mercurial. Or even git (?). If a server matters...

    Why don't you use environment vars as they (=trolltech) did with qt3? $MYSRC or something like that. Works perfect for me on all platforms.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Vienna
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Problem: 1 Project Folder on 2 Computers with different paths?

    Problem is (partly) solved,

    i've bought a new stronger laptop which has enough memory, etc.. and i'm developing now on only one pc. Maybe i'll try this thing sometimes again.

    thanx to all!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    98
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Problem: 1 Project Folder on 2 Computers with different paths?

    For subversion you can use this: http://www.xp-dev.com/
    You can create a personal private repository. I use this for my thesis.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Enschede, Netherlands
    Posts
    462
    Thanked 69 Times in 67 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Problem: 1 Project Folder on 2 Computers with different paths?

    Even if you only develop on one PC version control is a smart thing to do. Use subversion, git, perforce, mercurial, whatever you like to do it, but do it.
    Horse sense is the thing that keeps horses from betting on people. --W.C. Fields

    Ask Smart Questions

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th June 2008, 17:42
  2. [QDevelop] Problem with empty project
    By dreamer in forum Qt-based Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th February 2008, 07:40
  3. where is the problem in my project?! (about svg and png)
    By tech4web in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20th February 2008, 19:46
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18th April 2007, 15:31
  5. problem about multiple project in Kdevelop
    By coralbird in forum KDE Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 9th March 2006, 01:48

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.