Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Windows Mobile 5 configuring faliure

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Windows

    Unhappy Windows Mobile 5 configuring faliure

    Hey, I am looking to develop applications for Windows Mobile 5. I have the following software installed:
    • Qt 2009.02 (4.5)
    • Visual Studio 2008 Professional
    • Windows Mobile 5 SDK
    • I am running Windows XP SP2 on an HP notebook.
    However, when I try to configure Qt for WM5 (configure -platform win32-msvc2008 -xplatform -xplatform wincewm50pocket-msvc2008 into a Visual Studio Command Prompt) it has a whole lot of warnings about not being able to find '[insert name of file here]-wince.h' but still finishes configuration. Now, when I try to run 'setcepaths wincewm50pocket-msvc2008' it fails saying it can't find the command or program.

    I set the INCLUDE, LIB and PATH variables manually and ran 'nmake' but it failed with the following errors:
    • tmp\obj\debug_shared\qtmain_win.obj : fatal error LNK1112 : module machine type 'X86' conflicts with target machine type 'THUMB'
    • NMAKE : fatal error U1077 : '"F:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\VC\BIN\lib.EXE"' : return code '0x458'
      Stop.

    • NMAKE : fatal error U1077 : '"F:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\VC\BIN\nmake.EXE"' : return code '0x02'
      Stop.
    • NMAKE : fatal error U1077 : 'cd' : return code '0x02'

      Stop.
    (F is my hard drive)
    In case it helps I looked up the return codes on VS's errlook. 0x458 is 'no media in drive' and 0x02 is 'cannot find the file specified'.

    Can anyone help?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Windows Mobile 5 configuring faliure

    Are you able to complile any Windows Mobile 5 application using your environment? I mean one that doesn't use Qt.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Windows Mobile 5 configuring faliure

    Yes, I've successfully compiled one in Visual C++. Haven't actually tested it on P/PC (note the use of the '/' ) so I'll do that as soon as I can.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Windows Mobile 5 configuring faliure

    Tried it on the emulator that comes with Visual Studio - I assume that counts?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Windows Mobile 5 configuring faliure

    Quote Originally Posted by zeldaknight View Post
    Tried it on the emulator that comes with Visual Studio - I assume that counts?
    No idea, but let's assume so.

    Could you list the exact steps you did to reach your current situation of trying to build a Qt app for CE?

    BTW. Are you sure Windows Mobile 5 is really WindowsCE? I know WM6 is but I know nothing of WM5...
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Windows Mobile 5 configuring faliure

    Could you list the exact steps you did to reach your current situation of trying to build a Qt app for CE?
    Note that I'm not trying to build an application for WM5, I'm trying to build Qt for the platform.

    First I installed Visual Studio, which succeeded with no errors. I then installed Qt 2009.02 Open Source (I assume you don't need the commercial edition?) from the Windows installer. It didn't come up with any errors either, in fact the install went surprisingly fast. I then installed the WM5 P/PC SDK - This said I didn't have a component used for debugging but it didn't seem too serious so I continued.
    I then went through the steps I said in my first post - configured Qt then tried to build it as in the docs.

    BTW. Are you sure Windows Mobile 5 is really WindowsCE? I know WM6 is but I know nothing of WM5...
    Well, no it isn't but in the installation docs it talks about building with the Windows Mobile 5 SDK.

    Actually I may check whether I can build Qt for Visual Studio at all, to make sure it's not that that's the problem.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Windows Mobile 5 configuring faliure

    Quote Originally Posted by zeldaknight View Post
    Note that I'm not trying to build an application for WM5, I'm trying to build Qt for the platform.
    Just for fun or to build an application for WM5?

    First I installed Visual Studio, which succeeded with no errors. I then installed Qt 2009.02 Open Source (I assume you don't need the commercial edition?) from the Windows installer. It didn't come up with any errors either, in fact the install went surprisingly fast. I then installed the WM5 P/PC SDK - This said I didn't have a component used for debugging but it didn't seem too serious so I continued.
    I then went through the steps I said in my first post - configured Qt then tried to build it as in the docs.
    Get rid of the 2009.02 bundle and download a source-only release. The sdk also contains a MinGW compiler which may be messing some things up. Then you can build Qt with msvc.

    I'm just reading the installation docs. To me it seems you are mixing some x86 files with the pocket pc files. How exactly did you setup INCLUDE, LIB and PATH?
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  8. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    zeldaknight (20th May 2009)

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Windows Mobile 5 configuring faliure

    Ah...
    Just had another look at the Downloads page on Qt. Turns out the Windows installer has a tiny note at the bottom saying:
    *Based on MinGW (download sources) tool set. Does not support VS compiler.
    And there's a source specifically for WinCE! Guess I should have read the Downloads page better before...

    Should be plain sailing from here but I'll post if it isn't .

    Thanks for the help!

    (and by the way, I just checked out wwWidgets - I need to download that as the TextSpinBox is exactly what I want for my application)

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Windows Mobile 5 configuring faliure

    *sigh* ... Okay, Qt configured correctly but now when I try to build my P/PC application it comes up with the exact same errors . Does anyone have any suggestions?

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    628
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 89 Times in 87 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Windows Mobile 5 configuring faliure

    @ zeldaknight.

    You downloaded qt, or qtWince ?

    Anyways the correct steps are:
    1. Install Visual Studio.
    2. Install SDK.
    3. UNZIP Qt.
    4. Set paths. upto "bin". this is important in ur case. example
    "C:\Qt\WinCE\Bin"
    5. configure qt.
    6. run batch file which is in BIN folder named setcepaths.
    7. build qt. using nmake, obviously u have to use visual studio command prompt for that..

    have fun

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1,042
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 133 Times in 128 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Windows Mobile 5 configuring faliure

    Quote Originally Posted by yogeshgokul View Post
    @ zeldaknight.

    You downloaded qt, or qtWince ?

    Anyways the correct steps are:
    1. Install Visual Studio.
    2. Install SDK.
    3. UNZIP Qt.
    4. Set paths. upto "bin". this is important in ur case. example
    "C:\Qt\WinCE\Bin"
    5. configure qt.
    6. run batch file which is in BIN folder named setcepaths.
    7. build qt. using nmake, obviously u have to use visual studio command prompt for that..

    have fun
    8. now fold it aur usko apni g me le le.
    FUN chahiye saale ko

Similar Threads

  1. How to make this work for Windows Mobile
    By Mr.QT in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12th May 2009, 19:12
  2. Windows Mobile Query
    By tntcoda in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th April 2009, 15:06
  3. Asynchronously playing a sound (.wav) on windows mobile
    By TMan in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 20th October 2008, 19:16
  4. QSystemTrayIcon on Windows Mobile 5
    By lovelypp in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th July 2008, 15:57
  5. Windows mobile 6 deployment
    By Gilles.Bordas in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 7th July 2008, 11:06

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.