Thread: Packet getting fragmented when sending over QTcpSocket

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows Symbian S60

Default Packet getting fragmented when sending over QTcpSocket

I'm trying to write a single class to support XMPP protocol, it's packets are XML nodes.
    I'm using QTcpSocket for connection with the server, but sometimes when I get a big packet the readReady signal is emited twice and I get the packet fragmented. What's the best way to bypass this? I know I can have a buffer that I write all incoming data to and process the nodes when they are done, but i this the best and most optimal way? I'm quite new to Qt so it's possible I'm missing something, I'm learning new things every day.

Fragmentation with XMPP is not even half as confuing as fragmentation with a binary protocol. I'm also trying to write a class to support Gadu-Gadu (polish IM protocol) and it's packages are binary - there's always a "header" packet that tells me what type of packet I'm going to get next and what' it's size and then I get the packet, but sometimes it also get's fragmented. I haven't try to bypass this by using a buffer cause it's not easy finding out where one packet ends and another header starts.

Any help appreciated.

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows Symbian S60

Default Re: Packet getting fragmented when sending over QTcpSocket

anybody?

Thanks
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits

Quote Originally Posted by arturo182 View Post