Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Qt_linuxbase ??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Qt_linuxbase ??

    Hello gurus,

    Having just installed OpenSuse and then qtcreator, I can't compile anymore because the parameter QT_LINUXBASE is not defined by default.
    It is possible to define it manually in the code, but then the code isn't cross-platform anymore

    Does anybody have ideas ?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Qt_linuxbase ??

    Can we see the exact error?
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt_linuxbase ??

    The compilation error occurs in the header file qgl.h which is part of the Qt/Opengl libraries.

    Qt Code:
    1. # ifndef QT_LINUXBASE
    2. # include <GL/glu.h>
    3. # endif
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    qgl.h is called indirectly from my code.

    I can manage my code without the GL/glu.h header. Trouble is QT_LINUXBASE is unknown to the compiler, so an error message is issued at this point in the compilation.

    Thanks for any insight

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Qt_linuxbase ??

    Ok, but what is the problem? The file shouldn't be included and so it won't. If you need to include glu, do it from your own code.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt_linuxbase ??

    Sorry if I'm not clear. At this point in the code, I get the error :

    /opt/qtsdk-2009.03/qt/include/QtOpenGL/qgl.h:77: error: GL/glu.h: No such file or directory

    because QT_LINUXBASE is not defined.

    On the other hand, if I define the parameter in my code, then it isn't cross platform anymore.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Qt_linuxbase ??

    So install GLU development files. Apparently your distro is not LSB compliant and Qt needs GLU for something.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt_linuxbase ??

    Good idea, I'll try that

    Thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt_linuxbase ??

    Thanks for the advice Wysota, there was indeed a missing development library named "mesa-libGLU"

    Everything compiles fine now

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.