Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: different library names for 'official' and hand-built Qt?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    49
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default different library names for 'official' and hand-built Qt?

    I'm having a strange issue here. I'm trying to compile & link my Qt-based application using MS Visual Studio. What I did is that I downloaded Qt Creator to have qmake & related tools, and I downloaded & compiled the Qt libraries using the qt-all-opensource-src.4.5.2.zip file, using MS Visual Studio 2008.

    To my surprise, the qmake that comes with Qt Creator and the qmake that is the result of compiling qt-all-opensource-src.4.5.2.zip are different. For example, they generated different Qt library dependencies. The one that comes with Qt Creator generates dependencies on libraries that end if the character '4', for example QtSvg4.lib, while the qmake that comes from manual compiling the source code generated libraries & dependencies without the character postfix '4' (e.g. QtSvg.lib). (these are dependencies generated from the very same qmake project files)

    what is the source of this difference?

    can one compile qt-all-opensource-src.4.5.2 the very same way as Qt Creator is compiled, to generate the very same MS Visual Studio project files form the very same qmake project files?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1,042
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 133 Times in 128 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: different library names for 'official' and hand-built Qt?

    check if you have compiled the source in static mode... becoz the static ones dont have 4

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    49
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: different library names for 'official' and hand-built Qt?

    Quote Originally Posted by MrDeath View Post
    check if you have compiled the source in static mode... becoz the static ones dont have 4
    indeed I have.

    the question then is: how do I force qmake generate dependencies on static vs. dynamic Qt libraries?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1,042
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 133 Times in 128 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: different library names for 'official' and hand-built Qt?

    Quote Originally Posted by akos.maroy View Post
    the question then is: how do I force qmake generate dependencies on static vs. dynamic Qt libraries?
    can you rephrase your question.. i did not understood it

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,380
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 1,005 Times in 913 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60
    Wiki edits
    5

    Default Re: different library names for 'official' and hand-built Qt?

    Quote Originally Posted by akos.maroy View Post
    the question then is: how do I force qmake generate dependencies on static vs. dynamic Qt libraries?
    Use CONFIG += static in your pro file. (or CONFIG += staticlib)
    ... and of course rebuild you project.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    49
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: different library names for 'official' and hand-built Qt?

    Quote Originally Posted by Lykurg View Post
    Use CONFIG += static in your pro file. (or CONFIG += staticlib)
    ... and of course rebuild you project.
    yes, but the interesting thing is, that I'm running the two qmakes on the very same project files... IMHO they should produce the same result, especially as both qmake's are of the same version.

    it seems that qmake defaults are different, based on how qmake was compiled?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1,042
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 133 Times in 128 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: different library names for 'official' and hand-built Qt?

    Quote Originally Posted by akos.maroy View Post
    it seems that qmake defaults are different, based on how qmake was compiled?
    yes you are rite

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.