Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 30

Thread: Experts, what IDE are you using ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    185
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Experts, what IDE are you using ?

    Hi Experts,

    Is there any IDE that you are using that allows us to have autocompletion, etc... ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Experts, what IDE are you using ?

    Quote Originally Posted by probine
    Is there any IDE that you are using that allows us to have autocompletion, etc... ?
    KDevelop (to some extent).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Mountain View, California
    Posts
    489
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 74 Times in 54 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Experts, what IDE are you using ?

    I don't use an IDE at all, but my friends tell me that's because I'm a troglodyte.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    185
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Experts, what IDE are you using ?

    Jacek, you use KDevelop ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Napoli, Italy
    Posts
    621
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 86 Times in 81 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Experts, what IDE are you using ?

    Quote Originally Posted by probine
    Jacek, you use KDevelop ?
    KDevelop it's great!!!

    You can use it whit Qt 4.x.
    All you need is to set QTDIR environment variable to QT4 Path and set PATH to use QTDIR.
    Lanch KDevelop and WORK.
    A camel can go 14 days without drink,
    I can't!!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Ukraine,Lviv
    Posts
    454
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Experts, what IDE are you using ?

    I use Microsoft Visual Studio uder windows
    And try use KDevelop under Linux/FreeBSD
    a life without programming is like an empty bottle

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Kirovohrad, Ukraine
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Wink Re: Experts, what IDE are you using ?

    I can't say I'm an expert... Anyway, IMHO Vim is the best IDE ever created

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Experts, what IDE are you using ?

    Quote Originally Posted by mcosta
    KDevelop it's great!!!
    To some extend Kdevelop will do just fine, although needs some improvements on the autocompletion part and refactoring is somehow missing in this IDE.
    Personally I use Kdevelop, I just cant find a better IDE, especially for C++ !
    I Think therefore I Code...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Experts, what IDE are you using ?

    Quote Originally Posted by probine
    Jacek, you use KDevelop ?
    Yes, I do.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    75
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Experts, what IDE are you using ?

    I use Visual Studio .NET 2003, which is a very good debugging tool.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11

    Default Re: Experts, what IDE are you using ?

    Is Emacs totally out of fashion? I've never found a IDE that I liked.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,364
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,014 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Experts, what IDE are you using ?

    Emacs is for HaXoRs who can't handle vi key bindings

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11

    Default Re: Experts, what IDE are you using ?

    haha You're right, it's too much for me to handle. I like bizarr key bindings. I'm thinking about making my own keybinding where I only need to remember two keys, Ctrl and x. Then I only need to remember how many times I need to press theses two to make the different commands... I think it a really big hit.
    For examle open a file: press Ctrl, press x, double press Ctrl while triple click x... easy and fast!

    But does anybody know if there are openGL indentation functionality for emacs somewhere. I've read on some page that there are a IDE that indents openGL commans verry nice. But I can't remember the name of that IDE. But it really made the code verry pretty. I like when the code is as pretty as me.


    /pir

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Experts, what IDE are you using ?

    I use eclipse myself. I wll agree, KDevelop is quite nice as well.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    300
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Experts, what IDE are you using ?

    Does KDevelop support QT 4 Designer yet?
    "The strength of a civilization is not measured by its ability to wage wars, but rather by its ability to prevent them." - Gene Roddenberry

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,364
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,014 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Experts, what IDE are you using ?

    No, it doesn't. You have to use it as a standalone application.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Earth (Terra)
    Posts
    87
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60

    Default Re: Experts, what IDE are you using ?

    Coding in vim on all platforms.

    Ditto for configuration management/PERL. (Have been using CLI PHP for scripting instead of PERL, lately - just as strong and nicer syntax.)

    Debugging in Visual Studio (2003) on Windows.

    Usually debug in dbx, gdb, or like utility on unix. gdb works reasonably well under emacs.

    Eclipse looks pretty nice. Does it work in a C++ environment? Can it use make files?

    rickb

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Experts, what IDE are you using ?

    Quote Originally Posted by rickbsgu
    Eclipse looks pretty nice. Does it work in a C++ environment? Can it use make files?
    Yes, you just have to install C/C++ Development Tools. There's a howto somewhere that describes how to use qmake in Eclipse.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Lincoln, NE USA
    Posts
    177
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Experts, what IDE are you using ?

    Quote Originally Posted by probine
    Hi Experts,

    Is there any IDE that you are using that allows us to have autocompletion, etc... ?
    I'm not an expert, just a yomen.

    I use MS VisualStudio 2003 on Win2K, and on Linux I prefer Kate.

    Kate has a form of code completion in that it offers you contextual options using previously entered code. After porting a Windows app to Linux I found Kate worked as well as MSVS2003. MSVS2003 will often offer you more properties and methods than an object actually has, so in that regard it's no better than Kate. One thing I like about kate is that I can open a terminal in a quarter panel on the lower right side and compile from within Kate. Compiler errors are immediately available without being masked by Kate.

    I just upgraded my MEPIS to 6.0 b4 and it includes QT4.1.2. However, when I was attempted to open a ui designed in 4.1.0 using KDevelop's included QT designer, it wouldn't open. The QT 4.1.2 designer alone would open it.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,364
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,014 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Experts, what IDE are you using ?

    KDevelop integrates Designer from Qt3, so it can't work with Qt4 ui files.

Similar Threads

  1. Hi Experts Need your views . Does Qt provide it ?
    By vajindarladdad in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th January 2009, 06:19

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.