Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Plugin LIBS path not found

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sunny Darwin, NT Australia
    Posts
    186
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Plugin LIBS path not found

    What's the correct line to include the plugin path ?
    The only thing that seemed to work is:
    Qt Code:
    1. # LIBS += $$[QT_INSTALL_PLUGINS]/designer/libDbComboBox.so
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    I have to tell it the library name. Shouldn't the compiler find it from the path setting ?
    I've tried these lines but the compiler can't find it.

    Qt Code:
    1. LIBS += -L$$[QT_INSTALL_PLUGINS]/designer -llibDbComboBox
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    /usr/bin/ld: cannot find -llibDbComboBox

    Qt Code:
    1. LIBS += -l$$[QT_INSTALL_PLUGINS]/designer
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    /usr/bin/ld: cannot find -l/home/vince/qtsdk-2009.03/bin/designer

    Qt Code:
    1. LIBS += -L$$[QT_INSTALL_PLUGINS]/designer
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    undefined reference to [all my methods]

    The path IS a valid directory, using Qt 4.5.2 on Debian.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    627
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 89 Times in 87 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Plugin LIBS path not found

    Whats your question exactly ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    687
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 140 Times in 132 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Plugin LIBS path not found

    try removing "lib" from "-llibDbComboBox" (make it just "-lDbComboBox"), as a "lib" is a part of "soname" on Unix (full soname: lib*.so.1.2.3, where * is the real library name and 1.2.3 is a version)
    I would like to be a "Guru"

    Useful hints (try them before asking):
    1. Use Qt Assistant
    2. Search the forum

    If you haven't found solution yet then create new topic with smart question.

  4. The following user says thank you to faldzip for this useful post:

    vieraci (4th August 2009)

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sunny Darwin, NT Australia
    Posts
    186
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Plugin LIBS path not found

    Quote Originally Posted by faldżip View Post
    try removing "lib" from "-llibDbComboBox" (make it just "-lDbComboBox"), as a "lib" is a part of "soname" on Unix (full soname: lib*.so.1.2.3, where * is the real library name and 1.2.3 is a version)
    Thanks.
    One question. What happens when I build a bunch of plugins, do they all need to be named ? I thought -L specified the directory where shared libraries could be found ?

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    47
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded PyQt3 PyQt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Symbian S60

    Unhappy how do add a new page in QToolBox

    HI,


    help me i am new one to Qt4.5 i want to know how do add a page into QToolBox

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    687
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 140 Times in 132 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: how do add a new page in QToolBox

    Quote Originally Posted by kavinsiva View Post
    HI,


    help me i am new one to Qt4.5 i want to know how do add a page into QToolBox
    Use Qt Assistant for finding information about. And Qt Examples & Demos.
    I would like to be a "Guru"

    Useful hints (try them before asking):
    1. Use Qt Assistant
    2. Search the forum

    If you haven't found solution yet then create new topic with smart question.

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    687
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 140 Times in 132 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Plugin LIBS path not found

    Quote Originally Posted by vieraci View Post
    Thanks.
    One question. What happens when I build a bunch of plugins, do they all need to be named ? I thought -L specified the directory where shared libraries could be found ?
    hmm how they can be unnamed? ;> if all the libraries are in the same dir then you specify that dir with -L like -L/path/to/my/dir and than you can add all libraries from that dir with -l like -llibrary1 -llibrary2 -llibrary3
    I would like to be a "Guru"

    Useful hints (try them before asking):
    1. Use Qt Assistant
    2. Search the forum

    If you haven't found solution yet then create new topic with smart question.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sunny Darwin, NT Australia
    Posts
    186
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Plugin LIBS path not found

    Quote Originally Posted by faldżip View Post
    hmm how they can be unnamed? ;> if all the libraries are in the same dir then you specify that dir with -L like -L/path/to/my/dir and than you can add all libraries from that dir with -l like -llibrary1 -llibrary2 -llibrary3
    Yes that's what I mean.
    So, when I specified -L/path/to/lib, I got an error like invalid path or something.

    In other words, the compiler doesn't look thru them all to find the one(s) required ?

Similar Threads

  1. Visual Studio 2005 Express
    By Muzz in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 6th November 2008, 06:21
  2. Qt4 plugin path problem
    By david.corinex in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 5th January 2008, 16:10
  3. Program crashes with assert error in xcb_lock.c
    By Valheru in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18th November 2007, 19:56
  4. KDE 3.5.0 crash while opening project
    By MarkoSan in forum KDE Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19th October 2007, 16:21
  5. QPluginLoader not recognizing a plugin
    By KShots in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29th June 2007, 14:13

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.