Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: running external applications via QT?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default running external applications via QT?

    Hi i am a total beginner in QT 4.5 and was wondering how one can launch an external program or file via QT?

    i tried to do system() but the file(cmd.exe) does not show up...although i can see it in task manager. I also tried to run this

    QProcess::execute("file path/program.exe");

    but i got the same result as above.

    any ideas how i can do that? So basically i want to click a button and launch an external application pr Program/file help would be appericiated

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    659
    Thanks
    116
    Thanked 42 Times in 41 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: running external applications via QT?

    and the code u use to spawn ... check the QProcess::state() it may in QProcess::NotRunning
    or it is emitting void QProcess::started () signal

    if all above working fine .. check QProcess::readAllStandardError ()
    "Behind every great fortune lies a crime" - Balzac

Similar Threads

  1. Q3ScrollView resists to scroll down to the garbage bin
    By sivrisinek in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 5th February 2009, 17:50
  2. shared vs static
    By alisami in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 4th October 2008, 13:04
  3. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 23rd May 2008, 10:12
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 5th July 2007, 20:49
  5. Link Errors
    By magikalpnoi in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 25th September 2006, 22:04

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.