Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: QProcess starting minimized

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    1

    Default QProcess starting minimized

    Hi

    I jumped into Qt by starting to rewrite some native Windows application. It has some functionality that launches other applications. I had implemented a class similar to QProcess so it seemed that QProcess would do the job. I want to launch some of the applications in a minimized state. And it seems this is a problem with Qt. I found this thread and hoped that since it was in 2007 something might have changed meanwhile...
    http://www.qtcentre.org/forum/f-qt-p...ized-5901.html

    In the native app I used a ShellExecute function which has a parameter in which you can specify SW_SHOWMINIMIZED if the application should be minimized on launch.

    Is this still not possible with Qt?

    Some other functionality that I implemented like finding the window associated with the process by enumerating windows associated with the process and picking a window based on certain properties will probably also be an issue in Qt... Damn!

    Any good news will be appreciated.

    PS: I don't have the code for the applications that are being launched. It is defined in a config file as well so there is no specific code to launch an application.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: QProcess starting minimized

    Your code is by no means portable so trying to switch to QProcess without any other benefits is probably not worth the effort if the thing you have now works fine.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


Similar Threads

  1. Detect First QProcess finished in a group and kill other
    By Davidaino in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11th July 2008, 12:53
  2. QProcess exitStatus()
    By user_mail07 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12th June 2008, 20:51
  3. QProcess and Pipes
    By KaptainKarl in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9th April 2007, 23:11
  4. QProcess starting minimized
    By moe in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 3rd March 2007, 08:32
  5. QProcess / system call not working under linux. Why?
    By johnny_sparx in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11th March 2006, 00:32

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.