Thread: QT minimum build to start developing

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

Default QT minimum build to start developing

Hello,
    I just started playing with QT but have an uncertainty about building it under VS2008.

I used the following configuration command
    configure -debug-and-release -opensource -static -platform win32-msvc2008

followed by the suitable "nmake" command, but after several hours of compiling I noticed that also tutorials, demos, examples and a lot of other stuff were compiled, so that the "qt" folder was over 8GB in size (I then stopped building).

Is there a way (configuration parameter? makefile editing?) to build only the parts needed to start developing projects? (I think just .lib files for static building and .lib + .dll for dynamic, correct?)

Thanks a lot.

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

Default Re: QT minimum build to start developing

Its a subdirs project so it will compile everything inside.
    As quick work around, rename examples and demos folder before config and build.

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

Thank you.
    So if I want to carry around my "minimum build" which folders are necessary?
    Should I need only "include", "bin" and "lib" folders?

Thanks
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits

Try configure -help and see if Windows release contains options to disable building examples, demos, etc. It should be called something like "-no-make-examples" and similar.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

Quote Originally Posted by wysota View Post