Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Developing 64 bit applications with Qt

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    75
    Thanks
    10
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Developing 64 bit applications with Qt

    I am having a big 32 bit Visual C++ 6 based application. I am in the processing of porting it to 64 bit application running on 64 bit OS (64 bit machine). How easy/ difficult it can be if I completely do it with only Qt alone (not Visual C++)? I am considering Qt as there can be an option of running it as a Windows (32/ 64 bit) or Linux (32/ 64 bit) application. This application involves connectivity to database which is again going to be residing on 64 bit platform. Any issues developing 64 bit applications with Qt ? pls post your comments if there any related to this. thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,363
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,012 Times in 4,791 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Developing 64 bit applications with Qt

    No issues. Just build Qt and the application with a 64 bit compiler.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    140
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Developing 64 bit applications with Qt

    What it works is the other way : compile in 32bits on a 64 bits machine by settings makefile flags :

    QMAKE_CXXFLAGS += -m32
    QMAKE_LFLAGS += -m32

    After ensuring yourself that the libs you link against are compatibles.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 28th August 2009, 13:45
  2. Discussion about developing an onscreen keyboard in Qt
    By montylee in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2nd January 2009, 20:09
  3. How to add applications to qtopia..
    By apulu in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th June 2008, 14:36
  4. IDE for developing Qtopia4.3 application
    By namita in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7th March 2008, 05:29

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.