Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Qt 4.6 pr1 on Snow leopard? 64bit vs 32bit question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    49
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Question Qt 4.6 pr1 on Snow leopard? 64bit vs 32bit question

    I'm trying to build an app on MacOS X 10.6, that compiled fine on 10.5. When using the same Qt as on 10.5, I get:

    Qt Code:
    1. /Users/maroy/src/tools/usr/include/QtGui/qregion.h: In member function 'OpaqueRgnHandle* QRegion::handle(bool) const':
    2. /Users/maroy/src/tools/usr/include/QtGui/qregion.h:159: error: 'toQDRgn' was not declared in this scope
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    so I downloaded Qt 4.6 pr1, compiled it - and now I get:

    Qt Code:
    1. /Users/maroy/src/tools/usr/include/QtCore/qglobal.h:288:2: error: #error "You are building a 64-bit application, but using a 32-bit version of Qt. Check your build configuration."
    2. In file included from /Users/maroy/src/tools/usr/include/QtGui/qevent.h:47,
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    (and also the same error as above)

    I just built Qt 4.6 from the source tarball, and I sort of expected it to 'just work'

    what am I doing wrong?

  2. #2

    Default Re: Qt 4.6 pr1 on Snow leopard? 64bit vs 32bit question

    Hi guys:

    I got the same problem and message when compiling on Snow Leopard (10.6). Code that was compiling properly with Qt 4.5.2 does not do anymore with Qt 4.6 pr1 out of the box. I didn't use any special option when configuring Qt compilation.

    Any solution out there?

    Cheers,

    Diego.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qt 4.6 pr1 on Snow leopard? 64bit vs 32bit question

    Make that at least 3 of us. Everything compiles fine with Qt 4.5.2 and 10.5.x, but I get the same 64-bit vs. 32-bit error message with Qt 4.5.3 and 10.6.x as others are seeing with Qt 4.6 and 10.6.x.

    I'm booted with a 32-bit kernel. I'm not specifying anything to request a 64-bit build. Yet Qt is convinced I'm building 64-bit (and using a 32-bit version of Qt).

    Anyone have any suggestions?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qt 4.6 pr1 on Snow leopard? 64bit vs 32bit question

    Ah, problem solved. The default version of Qt for Mac OS X is still their "Carbon" build which is 32-bit. And by default g++ now builds 64-bit executables in Snow Leopard. Either download the "Cocoa", 64-bit version of Qt or add -arch i386 to your build using the default Qt and all is well.

  5. The following user says thank you to larryy for this useful post:

    soxs060389 (3rd October 2009)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17th September 2010, 16:38
  2. snow leopard broke my QT
    By rogerholmes in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2nd September 2009, 08:18
  3. Compiling Qt 32bit on 64bit os..
    By tgreaves in forum Newbie
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12th March 2009, 13:34

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.