Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Handle windows audio volume

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Sant'Elpidio a Mare, Italy
    Posts
    194
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Question Handle windows audio volume

    Hello everyone,

    I'm trying to manipulate windows system audio from a qt application (such as: raise/lower pitch, enable/disable audio, and so on...), just like if I act on the system audio gui panel of windows.
    I guess I should use winApi, but since I never had to struggle with this stuff, I'd much appreciate some tips from someone that already practiced it in the past.
    Every sort of tip is welcome
    --
    raccoon29

    "La mia vita finirà quando non vedrò più la gente ridere...non necessariamente alle mie battute "

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,714
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Handle windows audio volume

    What is the question?
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Sant'Elpidio a Mare, Italy
    Posts
    194
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Handle windows audio volume

    Quote Originally Posted by high_flyer View Post
    What is the question?
    The question is: how to handle Windows system audio from Qt application?
    --
    raccoon29

    "La mia vita finirà quando non vedrò più la gente ridere...non necessariamente alle mie battute "

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,714
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Handle windows audio volume

    EDIT: you can have a look at Phonon.
    Last edited by high_flyer; 30th November 2009 at 11:58.
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Sant'Elpidio a Mare, Italy
    Posts
    194
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Handle windows audio volume

    Quote Originally Posted by high_flyer View Post
    EDIT: you can have a look at Phonon.
    That's a great library! But sadly it seems that isn't able to edit system audio...
    Thank you so far anyway. Any other idea?
    --
    raccoon29

    "La mia vita finirà quando non vedrò più la gente ridere...non necessariamente alle mie battute "

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,714
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Handle windows audio volume

    you asked about handling audio, its not the same as editing audio.
    Qt is not meant for that.
    For editing media you need specialized libs.
    Google for it.
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Sant'Elpidio a Mare, Italy
    Posts
    194
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Handle windows audio volume

    Quote Originally Posted by high_flyer View Post
    you asked about handling audio, its not the same as editing audio.
    Sorry, I mistyped: I don't intend to edit/modify media files, I just would need to (at least) disable system audio, like that checkbox in Windows audio control panel "disable".
    Just this. No file editing.

    By the way, I used "General programming" forum because I see this could be not a Qt subject, but I think too this place is full of experienced people that could give some important tip... Google is not still been usefull so far about this
    --
    raccoon29

    "La mia vita finirà quando non vedrò più la gente ridere...non necessariamente alle mie battute "

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,447
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 348 Times in 333 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15th January 2009, 09:03
  2. Obtaining Windows Handle for Child Process
    By GTBuilder in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 19th March 2008, 21:54
  3. Volume control for Windows XP
    By probine in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30th May 2007, 06:18

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.