Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: How to develop on window and deploy on mac.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    India
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Question How to develop on window and deploy on mac.

    Hi,

    1) We want to make multi platform applications. I don't know how this works in qt.
    I developed a small application using QT creator (free) V4 on windows.
    Do i also need download and install QT Mac version on the mac and then compile the my application (that i created on windows) on the mac?
    or
    Is there any way where i can make the application for mac on my windows machine?

    2)We want to use only Windows machine for development and deploy applications on other platforms, even on Symbian phones.
    Is it possible?

    Please clear my confusions and tell me the way to run my application on mac. (confusion #1)

    Thanking You
    tarun mishra

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,714
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How to develop on window and deploy on mac.

    There are two issues:
    1. Development.
    2. Deployment.

    If you stick to pure Qt and ANSI C++, you can develop on any platform which is supported by Qt.

    If you want to deploy binaries, then you will have to compile your code on the target system, or use a cross compiler to the target system.
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    India
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: How to develop on window and deploy on mac.

    So , Can it be the solution:
    1) Download qt for mac and install on mac
    2) Compile my existing application (developed on Windows) on mac.

    THEN I have one question:
    Can Qt open the same project file on mac?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,714
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How to develop on window and deploy on mac.

    Yes, this is possible, this is what Qt is for.

    Qt can open the same project on all platforms it support, if you user the *.pro file.
    IDE specific project files will not work.

    Please don't mail such questions, but post them here.
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

Similar Threads

  1. Do you suggest to develop a videoplayer and notetaker with QT ?
    By fenerista in forum Qt-based Software
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14th November 2009, 07:28
  2. develop a tree.
    By tkms in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th January 2009, 05:18
  3. Can use Qt to develop app for maemo linux?
    By Teerayoot in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th December 2007, 21:07
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd November 2006, 11:55
  5. Should I develop my own model and view?
    By dandanch in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20th November 2006, 07:09

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.