Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: communication between QT application and python

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    12
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default communication between QT application and python

    Hello,

    I want to set up an IPC between a QT application and an python application. The python appl needs to send events with data to the QT appl and QT needs to send a answer. Does someone has a idea what I should use ? Can I use QDBUS or QCOPChannel for that ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Kirovohrad, Ukraine
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: communication between QT application and python

    Quote Originally Posted by HERC View Post
    Can I use QDBUS or QCOPChannel for that ?
    That's exactly their purpose, so yes, you should use one of them. Which one to use is up to you, but keep in mind that QCopChannel is to Qt Embedded only.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    12
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: communication between QT application and python

    I decide to use DBUS for the communication. I looked into the document and I found out that you can set up a peer-to-peer connection using QDBUSServer. On the internet I found that QDBUsServer isn't working (http://bugreports.qt.nokia.com/browse/QTBUG-186). Does somebody knows if it works in QT4.6 ? Where can I find an example

Similar Threads

  1. Python and QT
    By restrict9 in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd January 2010, 16:47
  2. Objective C, Python and Ruby code with C++ Qt application
    By Berberis in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th June 2008, 12:40
  3. Python to C++
    By ComaWhite in forum General Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th March 2008, 23:05
  4. Python or ruby or lua
    By Gopala Krishna in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 13th October 2007, 15:05
  5. Qt, Python and pop-ups
    By bashamehboob in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th September 2007, 19:33

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.