Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: qt4.6.2 embedded 'cannot connect to XServer.' at runtime

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Unhappy qt4.6.2 embedded 'cannot connect to XServer.' at runtime

    Hello,

    I have a problem when running qt embedded programs like demos:

    application cannot connect to XServer.

    This should not happen because i compiled specifically to use linuxfb without using X11. (although the documentation seems to suggest this is redundant)
    could someone kindly tell me my the problem?
    This should not happen if I use the embedded switch, does it?

    I used the demo 'textedit" provided. And others, too. All show the same error.

    Additional info:
    qt version: Qt libraries 4.6.2 for embedded Linux
    host OS: Ubuntu 9.1 Karmic
    device platform : arm926ejs, Linux debian 2.6.31
    Cross Compiler: Sourcery G++ Lite Edition for ARM (arm-none-linux-gnueabi-g++, ....)
    Configure :
    ./configure -embedded armel -xplatform qws/linux-arm-gnueabi-g++ -no-qt3support -depths 1 -little-endian -no-qvfb -qt-gfx-linuxfb -D__ARM_ARCH_5TEJ__ -opensource

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Red face Re: qt4.6.2 embedded 'cannot connect to XServer.' at runtime

    I found out the cause of the problem. It seems that this has nothing to do with the configure switches, but rather with QT libraries being present on the linux distribution (debian in my case) which are used probably for QT/X11 version. It was present in the /usr/lib directory and the QT executable was probably looking for them there.

    Solution:
    1. Place the correct QT libraries on the embedded platform and specify the path using LD_LIBRARY_PATH (I havent tried this)
    2. use -static switch in the QT library ./configure. This will pretent the executable from looking for the QT libraries. (I tried this and it works). However this will still ask for /lib/fonts, which i had to copy from the host environment.

    I hope this helps people.

    Regards

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 16th February 2010, 13:17
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd August 2008, 22:09
  3. Multiple apps using Qt/Embedded+Qtopia on Embedded Linux
    By drahardja in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th February 2008, 21:46
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10th November 2006, 15:38

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.