Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Is it possible? to enlarge the whole app

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    12
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Is it possible? to enlarge the whole app

    I'm writing a small in house program which will be used mainly by geriatrics. I'm wondering if it is possible, like in WPF, to enlarge the whole app, so it will go easy on their eyes. If not, maybe at least the text (in menus, toolbars, push buttons, and the likes). (The OS is already set up at the largest settings, but apparently it is not large enough).

    Thanks
    Dave

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Is it possible? to enlarge the whole app

    If you implement your application in Graphics View then it is easy. If not then you have to implement a style for your application that will return proper sizes here and there. QApplication::globalStrut can also be helpful.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    12
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Is it possible? to enlarge the whole app

    Quote Originally Posted by wysota View Post
    If you implement your application in Graphics View then it is easy.
    But then I'll not be able to use Qt buit-in classes like QMainWindow, QMenu & the like, will I ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,380
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 1,005 Times in 913 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60
    Wiki edits
    5

    Default Re: Is it possible? to enlarge the whole app

    You can: see QGraphicsScene::addWidget(). Of course you shouldn't include your main window as a whole. But isn't it easier to use the os screen zoom if something is really too small?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Is it possible? to enlarge the whole app

    It depends. You won't be able to use QMainWindow as a top-level window, only embedded into graphics view. I'd start with globalStrut and changing the font size (QApplication::setFont)

  6. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    dave (20th April 2010)

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    12
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Is it possible? to enlarge the whole app

    Quote Originally Posted by wysota View Post
    It depends. You won't be able to use QMainWindow as a top-level window, only embedded into graphics view. I'd start with globalStrut and changing the font size (QApplication::setFont)
    Yes, that seems like a better approach. Thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. How to enlarge QtCreator code completion window
    By vaginoid2 in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th January 2010, 23:39
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th March 2009, 20:02
  3. Enlarge Pushbutton?
    By triperzonak in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 20th June 2008, 14:58
  4. How to enlarge sceneRect() to the viewport size
    By iw2nhl in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27th August 2007, 16:39
  5. QPixmap/QImage How to enlarge a picture
    By jcr in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22nd June 2006, 06:38

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.