Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: drawing outside visible coordinates

  1. #1

    Default drawing outside visible coordinates

    To simplify my code I've been occasionally purposely drawing Pixmaps (Painter.drawPixmap) outside of visible coordinates. Is it possible to cause a memory leak this way or are there any drawbacks to this practice? I'm using PyQt4. Thank you. --Marc

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,938
    Thanked 268 Times in 268 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    20

    Default Re: drawing outside visible coordinates

    What do you mean with visible coordinates?
    A coordinate that is not on your screen?
    Or drawing beyond the width or height of your pixmap?

    In the first case, that should not be a problem except that it can slow down your program if the painting takes a while. Then it is better to draw just in time.
    Classic example: huge listviews where all items get drawn when loading the list.

  3. #3

    Default Re: drawing outside visible coordinates

    Yes I mean drawing to a coordinate that is not on my screen. Thank you for your answer!

Similar Threads

  1. GPS coordinates via SMS
    By radeknati in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20th April 2010, 12:56
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18th March 2010, 10:11
  3. Transforming coordinates
    By Benjamin in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd May 2009, 14:18
  4. Coordinates in millimeters
    By dreamer in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1st May 2008, 01:29
  5. getting mouse coordinates
    By eric in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th November 2007, 19:34

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.