Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Beginner level program not working

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Beginner level program not working

    Hello all,
    my program which i have attatched gives compile output as:
    Makefile.Debug:147: warning: ignoring old commands for target `debug/art.o'
    Makefile.Debug:165: warning: overriding commands for target `debug/of.o'
    Makefile.Debug:150: warning: ignoring old commands for target `debug/of.o'
    Makefile.Debug:168: warning: overriding commands for target `debug/building.o'
    Makefile.Debug:153: warning: ignoring old commands for target `debug/building.o'
    Makefile.Debug:171: warning: overriding commands for target `debug/Qt.o'
    Makefile.Debug:156: warning: ignoring old commands for target `debug/Qt.o'
    Makefile.Debug:174: warning: overriding commands for target `debug/ByteConverterDialog.o'
    Makefile.Debug:159: warning: ignoring old commands for target `debug/ByteConverterDialog.o'
    mingw32-make[1]: *** No rule to make target `e:/data/Ebukz/Qt/art', needed by `debug/art.o'. Stop.
    mingw32-make: *** [debug] Error 2
    Exited with code 2.
    Error while building project Byteconverter
    When executing build step 'Make'


    can someone please look into it and help me with it?
    Thanks
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,938
    Thanked 268 Times in 268 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    20

    Default Re: Beginner level program not working

    This is your .pro file

    Qt Code:
    1. SOURCES += main.cpp \
    2. E:/data/Ebukz/Qt/art \
    3. of \
    4. building \
    5. Qt \
    6. apps/examples/chapter02/byteConverter/ByteConverterDialog.cpp \
    7. E:/data/Ebukz/Qt/art \
    8. of \
    9. building \
    10. Qt \
    11. apps/examples/chapter02/byteConverter/ByteConverterDialog.cpp \
    12. BCD.cpp
    13. HEADERS += BCD.h
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    It contains a lot of errors.
    Add at least this line:
    TEMPLATE = app

    And remove those strange lines pointing to code you're not using.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Beginner level program not working

    i never used this command in .PRO file.could you please explain it in details..and even after adding that it does not work..which strange lines do you mean;acc. to me all lines are needed.
    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,938
    Thanked 268 Times in 268 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    20

    Default Re: Beginner level program not working

    Quote Originally Posted by Nishant View Post
    i never used this command in .PRO file.could you please explain it in details..
    Sure:
    http://doc.qt.nokia.com/4.6/qmake-manual.html

    acc. to me all lines are needed.
    Let me NOT do that and try for yourself first. I'm not your personal slave.
    I will help you and give you better responses if you show you tried something yourself.
    In other words, show your pro file after you've changed it and I'll tell you where you're wrong.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Beginner level program not working

    Dats kewl...thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Beginner level program not working

    Well,
    I did read the qmake manual.Got some details on adding HEADERS,SOURCES etc.But did not find anything particular relating to my application.And could you please tell,in my earlier small examples i didn't use
    TEMPLATE=app ;then how did they work?
    Thanks

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Beginner level program not working

    Please have a close look at the contents of SOURCES variable in the project file. Do you really have a file called "of" on your disk?

    Default template is "app" so you don't have to insert it explicitely in your project.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  8. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    Nishant (10th June 2010)

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Beginner level program not working

    Thanks;actually i was just trying an example from a book... just copy pasted it..and that of file came by.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Beginner level program not working

    Quote Originally Posted by Nishant View Post
    just copy pasted it..and that of file came by.
    I don't think you did that correctly. I doubt the book contained each word of a filesystem path in a separate line ending with a backslash.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  11. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Beginner level program not working

    Hey,the program still doesnt work efficiently.Am i using textChanged() as the right signal?
    Thanks

Similar Threads

  1. I need example for Windows Mobile working program
    By Mr.QT in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22nd June 2009, 09:19
  2. why this program is not working
    By ramamurthy.kv in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8th May 2008, 13:26
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th March 2008, 17:03
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 4th June 2007, 12:07
  5. program for working with Data Base(i need it)
    By banakil in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th January 2007, 22:58

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.