Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: How to show Widget instantly

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    4

    Default How to show Widget instantly

    Hi all!

    I have written an application that is used in collecting data for sensors during calibration. In the constructor of the class, the code for creating a mainwindow with several dockWidgets is executed before the sensor information (serialNumber) is collected. But the mainwindow is first displayed after the sensor information i collected. Is it possible to display the mainwindow before the rest of the code in the constructor is executed, or can a widget first be shown after all the code in the constructor is executed ? Any help would be deeply appreciated!

    Thanks
    gQt

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,380
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 1,005 Times in 913 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60
    Wiki edits
    5

    Default Re: How to show Widget instantly

    I see two possibilities. Do the collecting in a different thread or before/while collecting call QCoreApplication::processEvents().

    Or you can use your main window's QEvent::Show event and after you receive that, start collecting.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    4

    Default Re: How to show Widget instantly

    Thanks for the answer Lykurg! I will be away from my Qt-computer for one more week, then I will try your suggestions.

Similar Threads

  1. How to not show widget
    By gQt in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10th June 2010, 19:59
  2. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 29th May 2010, 18:42
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th September 2009, 21:36
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th March 2009, 22:25
  5. How to show the widget?
    By kommu in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21st October 2008, 08:43

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.