Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: SSL errors on QT HTTP example application

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    5

    Default SSL errors on QT HTTP example application

    I recently decided to upgrade my application from Openssl 0.98 to 1.0.0a. I've been using a static build of OpenSSL, such that I build OpenSSL and then rebuild QT in MSYS so that it incorporates SSL support.

    The build of QT appears to go okay, but after upgrading to Openssl 1.0 I can't even get the basic QT HTTP build to work without errors. Whenever I attempt to download an https page with it, it pops up an error message: "One or more SSL errors has occurred: No error, No error".

    Apparently, "No error, No error" is the content of calling errorString. So apparently, the program is throwing an sslErrors signal, but then the contents of the errors is "No error". Even stranger, the program has successfully downloaded the https page.

    I would chalk this up to it erroneously throwing the error signal, but my application is still using the older QHttp class, and there, it raises the error flag and SSL connections just don't work.

    The whole thing is really strange. Has anyone seen or heard of anything like this before, or have any ideas on where I can start debugging this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    5

    Default Re: SSL errors on QT HTTP example application

    FYI, I just tried out the pre-compiled OpenSSL 1.0.0a libraries from here:
    http://www.slproweb.com/products/Win32OpenSSL.html

    Same problem. Is QT just not compatible with OpenSSL 1.0?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    5

    Default Re: SSL errors on QT HTTP example application

    Switched to SSL 0.9.8o and am seeing the same problems. Does anyone have any idea why my QT could be apparently compiling correctly and throwing these false errors?
    Last edited by manekineko; 8th August 2010 at 01:03.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: SSL errors on QT HTTP example application

    My application uses QNetworkAccessManager to communicate with a backend web server.

    I am also seeing this issue. Since recompiling the Qt libs with a newly compiled libeay32.lib and ssleay32.lib I now see two "No error" errors reported at the end of the list whenever I try to connect using SSL.

    We have tried various combinations of Qt 4.6.2, Qt 4.7.1, openssl 0.9.8e and openssl 1.0.0d
    Last edited by JimH; 17th February 2011 at 17:29. Reason: library reference correction

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: SSL errors on QT HTTP example application

    Ok, Im sorry, I didn't try the other configurations correctly. I recompiled openssl-0.9.8r but I did not get the dlls to my app folder.

    This morning I backtracked and double checked and when I recompile openssl-0.9.8r and put the dlls in my app folder the problem does not show up any longer. So it seems that what you said earlier about a Qt problem with openssl-1.0.x might be the issue.

    Hope this helps,
    Jim Hanson
    Tenable Network Security

Similar Threads

  1. Windows CE 5.0 Application & Build errors
    By augusbas in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd August 2010, 13:29
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th April 2010, 19:05
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11th January 2010, 20:39
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 17th November 2009, 20:48
  5. XML http?
    By Mohd.Imran in forum Newbie
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd June 2009, 10:11

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.