Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Phonon::AudioOutput changes UI?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Tilburg, The Netherlands
    Posts
    7
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Phonon::AudioOutput changes UI?

    Hi all,

    when I added phonon to my project the style of the user interface has suddenly changed. And worse: all the text in the menu has disappeared.
    I boiled the problem down to the following piece of code:
    Qt Code:
    1. mediaObject = new Phonon::MediaObject(this);
    2. audioOutput = new Phonon::AudioOutput(Phonon::MusicCategory, this);
    3. Phonon::createPath(mediaObject, audioOutput);
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    Specifically the second line where the AudioOutput is created. When I comment out this line the program behaves and looks normal (first image) but when the line is active the program looks like in the second image. It behaves normally however, it is just the appearance that has changed.
    snapshot1.jpgsnapshot2.jpg

    I have already found that the change happens at runtime (as opposed to during compilation) by enclosing the above piece of code in an if statement and using the debugger to chose between executing it or not.

    Any ideas on how to solve this or how to troubleshoot this further?

    If it helps, I'm running debian linux(lenny) and link to Qt 4.4.3 from the repositories.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Tilburg, The Netherlands
    Posts
    7
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Phonon::AudioOutput changes UI?

    Did some more testing today and created a minimal example:
    1: create a new Qt 4 Gui Application (with Phonon support)
    2: create a simple menu in the form editor
    3: in mainwindow.cpp:
    -
    Qt Code:
    1. #include <phonon/audiooutput.h>
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    - and in the MainWindow constructor:
    Qt Code:
    1. Phonon::AudioOutput(Phonon::MusicCategory, this);
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    I also tested on my laptop running windows xp professional and there the problem doesn't exist so I guess there is a problem with my installation.

    As I said in my original post I installed Qt 4.4.3 from the lenny repositories
    I have phonon 4.4.2 (also the latest in lenny repositories) and it's dev packages.

    I also have Qt 4.6 compiled from source for a different project, but I explicitly set my project to use Qt 4.4.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Tilburg, The Netherlands
    Posts
    7
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Phonon::AudioOutput changes UI?

    Sorry for the triple post, but I can't seem to edit my old posts after 24 hours or so.

    Anyway I solved the problem (kind of). It turns out that the problem had to do with the Xine back-end I was using. I switched to GStreamer and now there are no more problems.


    EDIT: spoke to soon, the problem still occurs, but only when I open a dialog window. Will be doing some more investigation right now....
    suggestions on how to proceed debugging here are more then welcome since I'm kind of lost at the moment
    Last edited by snah; 14th August 2010 at 18:06.

Similar Threads

  1. Change volume of AudioOutput
    By snah in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 1st December 2010, 21:41
  2. Qt4.4.3 Phonon
    By alexcuiCN in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18th April 2009, 03:09
  3. Phonon V4L
    By kovariadam in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 31st January 2009, 15:35
  4. Phonon
    By QTInfinity in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19th November 2008, 14:24
  5. Phonon and Mac
    By SidGBF in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 8th September 2008, 13:11

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.